Note You must stop your Messaging system before you restore data. For more information, see Stopping Messaging.
The time required for a restore depends on the amount of data on the system and the speed of the LAN traffic. Perform the following procedure for both attended and unattended backups.
The system displays the View/Restore Data Web page.
The View/Restore Data Results Web page lists the backup images stored in the location you specified. The most recent backups are listed at the bottom of the list.
You must select a backup image before you click View, or the system displays an error message. To clear the error message, click the Back button on the browser and then select a backup image.
If you have to restore both the Messaging server data sets as well as the Messaging data sets, you must restore the Messaging server data first. If the hard drive is new, and the release number of the software on the hard drive is more recent than that of the backup data, click Force restore if backup version mismatch if the backup version mismatches and Force Restore if server name mismatch if the server name mismatches.
Preview. Use the Preview button if you are not sure you have selected the correct backup image. When you click Preview:
A View/Restore Data Results screen displays a brief description of the data associated with the backup image.
Messaging data has one of the following names attached to the backup file name:
audix-ann for announcements
audix-tr-msg for translations and messages
audix-tr-name-msg for translations, names, and messages
audix-tr-name for translations and names
audix-tr for translations only
Click Restore on the second screen to begin the restore process. If the hard drive is new, and the release number of the software on the hard drive is more recent than that of the backup data, click Force restore if backup version mismatch if the backup version mismatches and Force Restore if server name mismatch if the server name mismatches.
Restore. When you click Restore, the system displays the View/Restore Data Results Web page which displays whether the restore procedure was successful.
If you do not have any remote networked machines, continue with step 8.
If you have remote networked machines, do the following:
For more information, see Running a remote update manually.