Performing a restore

About this task

NoteNote

You must stop your Messaging system before you restore the data. For more information, see Stopping Messaging.

The time required for a restore depends on the amount of data on the system and the speed of the LAN traffic. Perform the following procedure for both attended and unattended backups.

Procedure

  1. Stop the Messaging software. For more information, see Stopping Messaging.
  2. On the Administration menu, click Server (Maintenance) > Data Backup/ Restore > View/Restore Data.

    The system displays the View/Restore Data Web page.

  3. In the View current backup contents in area, select Network Device or Local Directory. Use the same information that you used when you backed up the data to complete the following fields in case you selected Network Device:
    1. Method
    2. User Name
    3. Password
    4. Host Name
    5. Directory
  4. Click View.

    The View/Restore Data Results Web page lists the backup images stored in the location that you specified. The system lists the most recent backups at the bottom of the list.

    You must select a backup image before you click View, or the system displays an error message. To clear the error message, click Back on the browser and then select a backup image.

  5. To select the backup image you want to view or restore, click the corresponding option.

    If you want to restore both the Messaging server data sets as well as the Messaging data sets, you must restore the Messaging server data first. If the hard drive is new and the release number of the software on the hard drive is more recent than that of the backup data, click Force restore if backup version mismatch if the backup version mismatches and Force Restore if server name mismatch if the server name mismatches.

  6. Click one of the following:
    • Preview. Use Preview if you are unsure that you have selected the correct backup image. When you click Preview:

      • A View/Restore Data Results screen displays a brief description of the data associated with the backup image.

      • Messaging data has one of the following names attached to the backup file name:

        • audix-ann for announcements

        • audix-tr-msg for translations and messages

        • audix-tr-name-msg for translations, names, and messages

        • audix-tr-name for translations and names

        • audix-tr for translations only

      • Click Restore on the second screen to begin the restore process. If the hard drive is new and the release number of the software on the hard drive is more recent than that of the backup data, click Force restore if backup version mismatch if there is a mismatch in the backup version, and Force Restore if server name mismatch if there is a mismatch in the server name.

    • Restore. When you click Restore, the system displays the View/Restore Data Results Web page which displays whether the restore procedure was successful.

  7. Do one of the following:
    • If you do not have any remote networked machines, continue with Step 8.

    • If you have remote networked machines, do the following:

    1. Log off the Messaging server.
    2. Log in to the Messaging Web page.
    3. Run a manual update to and from all remote networked machines to correct any database inconsistencies.

      For more information, see Running a remote update manually.

    4. Continue with Step 8.
  8. Restart the Messaging software. For more information, see Starting Messaging.