Server shutdown

Purpose

Use the Shutdown Server Web page to shut down the server immediately. You can also configure the server to restart after the shutdown process.

CAUTIONCAUTION

You must shut down the server only after business hours. If you shut down the server, the Web server stops all processes that are running. You cannot gain access to the SMI pages until the server restarts.

If you select the Immediate Shutdown option, the server ignores the condition of any duplicate server. The selection also affects the method in which the duplicate server takes over from the main server.

Delayed shutdown

If you select the Delayed Shutdown option, the system notifies all processes that the server will shut down. Before the server shuts down, the system waits for all processes to close files and perform other clean-up activities.

Immediate shutdown

If you select the Immediate Shutdown option, the system does not wait for all processes that are running to end before the system shuts down the server. Immediate shutdown results in data loss.

Restart server after shutdown

To restart the server after the shutdown process, select the Restart server after shutdown check box.

When you shut down the server, the system displays a message depending on the conditions under which you performed the action.

If you opt for a delayed shut down of the server, the system displays the following message when the system successfully begins the shut down process: shutdownproc accepted.Global shutdown is now in progress.

No message

If you select the option to shut down the server immediately, the system displays a blank results page, as connectivity is lost because of the server shutdown.