Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Messaging (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Move To VM Version 8.1 (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4043)

maiken 12-19-2013 09:27 AM

Move To VM Version 8.1
 
Old Nortel Guy asking here, don't laugh too loud:
We have an existing IP Office500 voice mail on a dying server. If we move this to a VM do I need to contact Avaya to move the licenses, or will they work just by copying the platform over?

markgallagher 12-19-2013 10:51 AM

The Voicemail Pro application running on the server doesn't actually have any licenses. Rather iIt checks with the IP500 switch whether the IP500's license include ones for supporting voicemail. If so the two work together.

So in theory you can simply move the Voicemail Pro application to a new server without any license changes.

Naturally you need to backup and export all the voicemail settings, mailboxes, etc from the old server and upload them to the new. How to do that depends on what version of Voicemail Pro it is?

The IP Office configuration may include the IP address of the voicemail server so that would need to be changed unless you move the address to the new server.

maiken 12-19-2013 11:38 AM

Thanks!
 
That answers my questions! My server guys claim they can literally copy the old to the new VM platform and run from there. They will duplicate the IP address and Name to the new platform.

I have already put in a PO to have the licenses moved to the WHSE server from the NYC server that is being decommissioned in late January.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 AM.