Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   How to buy and install an Avaya Endpoint license (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6450)

dkrajc 05-14-2015 02:56 PM

How to buy and install an Avaya Endpoint license
 
Everyone,

I am looking at buying and configuring an Avaya E129 phone for my office. Right now all of the phones are Avaya model 1408 so no endpoint licenses. I have one SIP conference room phone, the Avaya B179. I am assuming that the setup of the E129 would be like the B179. My question is I had to buy an endpoint license for the B179. I bought it through my reseller and I personally think the cost was rather high. Can I buy and install the endpoint license myself or is this something that has to be purchased from my reseller so everything is assigned correctly?

Let me know if there are any questions.

Thanks in advance.

Daniel Krajc

markgallagher 05-14-2015 03:30 PM

What are you expecting from the E129?

Whilst I quite like it as a basic phone, in terms of flexible feature integration with the IP Office system its no match to what you have with the 1408's or their IP equivalent 1608.

dkrajc 05-14-2015 04:40 PM

Mark,


I am looking for a basic phone. The location the phone is going to be placed in is not wired back to my digital station or control unit so the 1408 phone does not turn on. I do however have I wired ethernet drop, so that is why I am thinking going with a SIP phone. The phone will be used by an intern just to make and receive calls. I don't think I will need anything else but I will look at the 1608.

Thanks.

Dan

oiduran 05-19-2015 01:47 PM

It's very importan to know tha IP Office version you are using. Because depending the version you will need Avaya Endpoints or/and endpoints third's. Let me know what happened.

claud4 05-19-2015 11:37 PM

E129 required IP Office end point license
 
E129 requires standard IP Office end point licenses , ,not third party SIP license .



Claudion .

fwilkepcs 05-20-2015 11:33 AM

It works with Avaya IP Endpoint licenses if IPO is at 9.0.3 or newer. Earlier releases will treat E129 as a third party device.

oiduran 05-20-2015 11:49 AM

Depending the firmware version of the IP Office. For example in release 8.1. needs thrid party license.

dkrajc 06-02-2015 08:19 AM

Playing catch up
 
Everyone,

First sorry for the delay.

Thanks for the information regarding the licensing regarding the phones. My followup question is how do I go about buying a license? I bought licenses from my reseller before and personally I think they were rather high and there was also an install charge. Can I buy an IP Office SIP license from say CDW and install it myself or is this something that has to be done from my reseller?

Thanks again.

Dan


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.