Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Avaya Networking Products (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   5510/20 Switch Stack, VERY basic config, Entire Network Drops (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1969)

klein50 07-27-2012 05:44 AM

5510/20 Switch Stack, VERY basic config, Entire Network Drops
 
We have a new switch stack that was installed a few weeks ago that consists of 3 5510 48T switches and 1 5520 POE 48T switch. The config so far is VERY basic, to the best of my knowledge, with all ports having membership to VLAN1 and IP addresses to the individual switches and the stack set. Only one switch, a 5510, has the base switch button turned on in the back. The base switch also has 2 fiber cables connected to the GBIC ports providing connectivity to some miscellaneous switches that we have out in a warehouse. The switch stack is cabled in the back but as of right now does NOT have the loop back cable in place. All of the switches appear to be running FW 6.0.0.15 and SW 6.2.4.010

Twice now we have experienced network outages. During these outages, some of the servers, which are all plugged into ports on SW1 (the base switch), were able to ping each other, but clients could not connect to the servers. During the first outage, SW1 was power cycled and the network eventually came back up with SW2 taking over as the base unit. During the second outage, SW2 was power cycled and the network eventually came back up, with SW1 taking over as the base unit.

I have a System Log; however, I guess I'm not allowed to post an attachment. The one thing that I see in the System Log that sticks out like a sore thumb (IMO) is this entry: 1970-01-03 21:07:15 GMT 2 msgSrcNVR Sw Exception: Task tExcTask, Type Watchdog, PC 0x00f8baf0, SP 0x02b28c30 But I do not understand the time/date of it and I do not know enough to recognize any other possibly harmful events in the System Log.

Any info or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated as we don't really have any true network guys working here. Thanks.

maftabmemon 08-22-2012 04:37 AM

I believe the system time is not set and as a result you see that strange time.
Can you post the output of show system last-exception ?

maftabmemon 08-22-2012 04:40 AM

I see that ERS5510 is made a base unit.
As this is a mixed stack, I would suggest to make ERS5520 as the base unit rather than ERS5510.

klein50 08-22-2012 04:57 AM

We now have, and have had for about 3 weeks now, the 5520 as the base unit. Fingers crossed, but I haven't experienced any problems with it yet...knock on wood.

klein50 08-22-2012 04:58 AM

show system last-exception

Last Saved Exception - Unit# 4
---------------------------------------------------
No exception registered in the system.

maftabmemon 08-24-2012 04:31 AM

I suspect it was because of the incorrect base unit.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:06 PM.