Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Using Wireshark (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6448)

haddod 05-14-2015 06:20 AM

Using Wireshark
 
Hello. I have installed Wireshark and WinSCP but all I see to capture data on are the Servers two ethernet ports. I am trying to get a handle on adding another interface but in googling around and reading the help file I am still no closer. Can someone coach this old voice guy on how to add the IP Office LAN port to the interfaces traced so I can capture data please?
Thank you in advance,

sedge 05-14-2015 07:37 PM

Hi

With Wireshark installed on your laptop, you will need to have your laptop capturing the data flowing between the IP Office and the Ethernet switch it is connected to.

If you connect your laptop to another Ethernet port on the same switch you will not see data to/from the IP Office [unless it's data specifically going to/from your laptop].

So that Wireshark can "see" the data going to/from the IP Office the Ethernet switch would need to be configured for "port mirroring". This is just as it sounds, data on the Ethernet port the IP Office is connected to is "mirrored" to the port your laptop is connected to.

How to configure "port mirroring" will be specific to the model of Ethernet switch and is usually performed by the IT Administrator of the network.

Another option, which is old and less than ideal is to install an Ethernet "hub" between the IP Office and the Ethernet switch. Then plug your laptop into the hub. A hub has the same data to/from every port. Hubs are difficult to find today and would not be Gigabit speed.

Of course, the connection between the IP Office and Ethernet switch would have to be disconnected to install a hub, another negative.

Port mirroring, as above is what typically needs to be done.

zakabog 05-15-2015 01:10 PM

What kind of data are you trying to capture? There might be a better method of troubleshooting than using Wireshark.

oiduran 05-19-2015 12:17 PM

Could You upload tracert Wireshark?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.