Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Version SD card- a chassis works with one but not another sd card- why? (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1495)

stutzb 02-29-2012 06:44 AM

Version SD card- a chassis works with one but not another sd card- why?
 
We have a medical office that has a Partner Version 6.1. Everything was working great until they added some new sets. The intercom buttons did not show up on the new sets. So we reformatted their SD card and upgraded them to a 7.0 license. Everything fine until we added 2 more sets and the same issue showed up on the 2 new sets. So we took their programming info to our office, bought a new Partner Version 7.0 SD card and upgraded it to 7.0. 27. Then we manually programmed, in manager, all the features our customer had on their old SD card on to the new SD card while plugged into a spare chassis that was in our office. We tested it the new SD card on our in our house chassis and it worked fine. We took the brand new working SD card to our customer site and plugged it into their chassis and immediately we get an error that sais a license is required. The SD card worked fine in our test chassis in our office. The customer had no other licenses on its old SD card. The new SD card the 7.0 license. Why are we getting this error? This took 5 man hours, and we have one unhappy customer. Why canít we just plug 2 phones in and have it work?

willems1 02-29-2012 11:44 PM

Did you use the proper upgrade licence for the customer site? The brand new unit may be upgraded free, customer needs a licence. Also additional IP sets may require End Point licences.

stutzb 03-01-2012 06:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by willems1 (Post 4034)
Did you use the proper upgrade licence for the customer site? The brand new unit may be upgraded free, customer needs a licence. Also additional IP sets may require End Point licences.

Thanks but don't follow. We opened a brand new sd card. It came 6.0. But since it was never used we had the 90 day upgrade window and upgraded it to 7.0.27. Remember this is a partner version sd card. We put the sd card in our chassis in our office. It worked fine. We programmed the sd card. It worked fine. We take it to our customer and plugged it in to their chassis and it said "license required." Humm.... it is a 7.0.27 partner version. What license? No end points here, it is a version. We would buy a license if we knew what was needed. (Customer only had the 2 port mail so no licenses there). No Sip or twinning was put on either.
I was hoping Avaya engineers checked on these things.

pdgavin 03-01-2012 03:29 PM

Version SD card- a chassis works with one but not another sd card- why?
 
The 90 day entitlement period is in the IP500v2 control unit not on the SD card. If the IP500v2 control unit has been plugged in and working for more than 90 days on version 6.0 they would need an upgrade license to run 6.1 or 7.0 or 8.0 even in Basic Edition PARTNER Mode.

Pete


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.