Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Avaya Networking Products (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Detect Network Looping (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4876)

bennylu 07-17-2014 09:50 PM

Detect Network Looping
 
Is ERS3500 or 4500 switch able to detect looping error in the network?

knemallapudi 07-23-2014 10:20 AM

Hi Bennylu,

The Spanning Tree Protocol detects and eliminates logical loops in a bridged or switched network. When multiple paths exist, the spanning tree algorithm configures the network so that a bridge or switch uses only the most efficient path. If that path fails, the protocol
automatically reconfigures the network activate another path, thus sustaining network operations.
The Avaya Ethernet Routing Switch 4000 Series supports multiple spanning tree groups (STG). The Avaya Ethernet Routing Switch 4000 Series supports a maximum of eight STGs, either all in one stand-alone switch or across a stack. Multiple STGs provide multiple data paths, which can be used for load-sharing and redundancy.

You will find more information and configuration details here-

http://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100181388

I hope this helps.

rameshng 07-23-2014 11:16 PM

In addition to that below other features can also help you to detect the loops in the network.
STP BPDU filtering ignore-self

You can use the STP BPDU filtering ignore-self parameter to prevent the switch from blocking
ports if an IP Phone loops back BPDU packets. When you enable BPDU filtering on the switch port, if you turn off a connected IP Phone, the BPDU packet can loop back to the switch. The switch can interpret the looping BPDU packet as an attack and block the port
administratively.


more information how to configure is here.
http://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100134063

onikolaisen 07-24-2014 03:05 AM

SLPP-guard also an option
 
Provided you have an ERS5x000, ERS8x00 or any of the VSP-series switches, you can set these up with SLPP on each vlan. You can then turn on SLPP-guard on the 4x00 and 3500 series switches to detect loops at the edge.

rameshng 07-25-2014 02:31 AM

ERS 3500 and 4500 can be configured for STP and BPDU filtering. We may not require SLPP here to prevent loops.

landess 07-28-2014 07:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rameshng (Post 11660)
ERS 3500 and 4500 can be configured for STP and BPDU filtering. We may not require SLPP here to prevent loops.

It will be neccessary in case the loop is caused by eg. an unmanaged switch connected to the edge, which drops BPDUs.
SLPP is definitely recommended if it is possible!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 PM.