Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   IP Telephony and Convergence (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Issue with External Ringdown on IPO IP500V2 (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14090)

silvib 09-09-2019 08:26 PM

Issue with External Ringdown on IPO IP500V2
 
Hi there,

I have an Avaya IP Office IP500V2 with DS 1-6 700504556 expansion boards, and a few IP phone extensions as well as analog lines coming into my phone system.

We have an issue when we use an external ring down device (https://www.vikingelectronics.com/products/dle-200b/) on an older Avaya Partner system we do not have this issue, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

We have an external courtesy phone that is connected to one side of the ringdown, the other end is plugged into an analog port of our phone system.

When the remote user on the courtesy phone calls into our Avaya IP Office system system our line rings as expected and we're able to pick up the phone line on a local headset and it works as expected -- both remote caller and local caller are able to speak with one another.

When we pick up the line locally on our Avaya phone, the remote user on the courtesy phone hears the ring (generated from our external Viking ring down) and picks up and we can hear the remote user speaking, however he cannot hear us speaking on our IP system back to him.

Wondering if there is a setting in IP Office manager that is possibly wrong.

I apologize that I have limited knowledge about the system and greatly appreciate the insight anyone might have. :confused:

thiel2 09-10-2019 09:44 AM

Does the audio ever kick in, like after about 3 seconds?

How are you accessing the ring-down from the IPO? Are you dialing a short code, or have you added a line appearance?

Are you in Basic or Essential mode?

On the analog line, there is a tab for Analogue Options. On this form you will find a setting for "Await Dial Tone" - default is 3000 mSec, which is 3 seconds. This is the amount of time after the IPO connects to the line before it will send any digits (for a regular phone call). Try setting this to 100, and see if you get audio right away (or almost right away)

AND, are you aware that the IP Office has the ability to handle a hot line extension all by itself, without the Viking box in the equation? Ports 7 and 8 on your Combo Card are for single line telephones. Extend this to the Courtesy Phone, give it an extension number that you can dial on the system, and create a hunt group to receive calls from the Courtesy Phone. In the User programming for the Courtesy phone, go to Short Codes, add ?D / Direct Dial / {extension number of the hunt group}

Lifting the handset of the phone will cause the hunt group to ring, anyone in the group can pick up the call. Calling the extension number from any IP Office phone will cause the Courtesy phone to ring, with no weird audio issues created by using a trunk to interface

silvib 09-15-2019 12:09 PM

Hi Thiel2,

Thanks so much for the response,


>> Does the audio ever kick in, like after about 3 seconds?

Audio never kicks in for the IPO system sending to the analog line on the other end of the ring down interface. We hear the operator on the Courtesy phone but they don't hear us.


>> How are you accessing the ring-down from the IPO? Are you dialing a short code, or
>> have you added a line appearance?

We just have it plugged into an analog port on one of the (4) ATM4 trunk ports that we have


>> Are you in Basic or Essential mode?

We have the Essential license


>> On the analog line, there is a tab for Analogue Options. On this form you will find a
>> setting for "Await Dial Tone" - default is 3000 mSec, which is 3 seconds. This is the >> amount of time after the IPO connects to the line before it will send any digits (for a >> regular phone call). Try setting this to 100, and see if you get audio right away (or
>> almost right away)

I will have to try this and I'll report back this week.

>> AND, are you aware that the IP Office has the ability to handle a hot line extension all
>> by itself, without the Viking box in the equation? Ports 7 and 8 on your Combo Card
>> are for single line telephones. Extend this to the Courtesy Phone, give it an extension
>> number that you can dial on the system, and create a hunt group to receive calls from
>> the Courtesy Phone. In the User programming for the Courtesy phone, go to Short >>
>> Codes, add ?D / Direct Dial / {extension number of the hunt group}

This is a great idea! I would need to swap 2 of our ATM4 cards for COMBO cards to get the 8 analog station ports for Courtesy phones that we would require, (we currently only have 2 of the combo cards in our frame) but it seems like the best way to go.

I'll still get back as to whether or not setting the "await dial tone" to a lower number fixes our issue.

Really appreciate the insight!

thiel2 09-16-2019 10:41 AM

700504556 IS the com code for a Combo Card - Digital Stations on 1-6, Analog Stations on 7-8, ATM-4 on 9-12. Maximum of 2 supported on the IP 500 V2 control unit.

So unless you're using ports 7 and 8 on both of your 700504556 cards, you have what you need

silvib 09-17-2019 07:24 PM

Hey thiel2,

Setting the "Await Dial Tone" to 100ms unfortunately didn't work. I tried 0ms as well and still no dice. Interestingly enough -- after establishing a call via the viking ringdown, from IPO, and not hearing the caller on the courtesy phone, If I hit '9' from the IPO phone, the 2 way communication is established, and the caller on the courtesy phone can hear me for the rest of the call.

thiel2 09-18-2019 09:24 AM

Lets revisit how you access the Viking Ring Down from the IPO.

Are you dialing a short code? Do you have a line appearance?

If you are dialing a short code, how is it set up?

Usually you would use something like *85 / Dial / {telephone number blank} / Outgoing Line Group ID of line interfaced to Viking

If this is what you are using, add a 9 in the telephone number field, when you dial the short code the IPO will grab the line and dial the 9 then cut through the audio path

silvib 09-18-2019 11:53 PM

>> Lets revisit how you access the Viking Ring Down from the IPO.
>> Are you dialing a short code? Do you have a line appearance?

We have a line appearance for the 6 lines with ring-downs -- 706 - 712, one side of the ring down is plugged directly into the analog port on the IPO.

>> If you are dialing a short code, how is it set up?
>> Usually you would use something like *85 / Dial / {telephone number blank} / >> Outgoing Line Group ID of line interfaced to Viking

>> If this is what you are using, add a 9 in the telephone number field, when you dial the
>> short code the IPO will grab the line and dial the 9 then cut through the audio path

Currently, no short codes being dialed. Just selecting line 6 from an IPO phone. The ring-down begins ringing and the courtesy phone hears the ring and picks up (but no audio from the IPO to the courtesy phone unless a 9 is dialed from the IPO)

The line currently has the group id set to 0 and no telephone number. I kind of see where your going though. If we kept the line *always* dedicated to ring down use we could just have the 9 dialed when the line was picked up, right? The caveat is that we'd always have to use those lines just for use with these ring-downs -- or modify the IPO config based on wherever they were being used.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 AM.