Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   9608 Phones stuck at discover when using DHCP (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11930)

rteluk 09-12-2016 03:36 PM

9608 Phones stuck at discover when using DHCP
 
I'm hoping someone might be able to give me some additional insight on this.

We have an Avaya IP Office 500v2 on the network with 2 HP 1920 Switches.

We have a data VLAN (1) and and voice VLAN (20).

LAN1 of the IPO is on vlan 1
LAN2 of the IPO is on an ip address associated with VLAN 20, the switch port it is plugged into is tagged VLAN 20 and PVID 20 (this port has been changed to untagged 20 as well with no change)

All other ports are tagged 20 and untagged 1 with a PVID of 1.

The router (watchguard) has internet on port 0, LAN (vlan1) on port 1 and vlan20 on port 2.
Port 1 and Port 2 of the watchguard are plugged into the same switch at different ports. The router does dhcp for vlan 20. The watchguard can communicate to the IPO on both lan1 ip and lan2 ip.

I have a 9608 that is getting DHCP from router and then sits at Discover 192.168.20.1 (this is the ip of the IPO on LAN2). The only way for phones to boot up when on the 192.168.20.x network is to make the default gateway 192.168.20.1 (which is the lan2 ip address of the IPO). The default gateway and the switches can communicate (ping and trace route) to 192.168.20.1 with no issues, I am not sure what I am missing here, any insight would be greatly appreciated.

thiel2 09-12-2016 03:58 PM

Are you using an Option 242 string in the Watchguard, or LLDP in the switches to provide the Call Server and File Server addresses to the phones?

rteluk 09-12-2016 04:03 PM

Yes option 242 is setup as follows:

MCIPADD=192.168.20.1,MCPORT=1719,HTTPSRVR=192.168. 0.221,L2Q=1,L2QVLAN=20

thiel2 09-13-2016 09:12 AM

Try setting the File Server in Manager to Memory Card, and this for your option 242 string


L2Q=1,L2QVLAN=20,VLANTEST=0,MCIPADD=192.168.20.1,M CPORT=1719,HTTPSRVR=192.168.20.1


(There are no spaces in the string above - weird, I see a space between M and CPORT when viewing the message, but not when editing it. If you copy and paste, be sure to remove any spaces that result. I imagine the same is in your post, where there is a space between 192.168. and 0.221 in your file server address)

rteluk 09-13-2016 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thiel2 (Post 28231)
Try setting the File Server in Manager to Memory Card, and this for your option 242 string


L2Q=1,L2QVLAN=20,VLANTEST=0,MCIPADD=192.168.20.1,M CPORT=1719,HTTPSRVR=192.168.20.1


(There are no spaces in the string above - weird, I see a space between M and CPORT when viewing the message, but not when editing it. If you copy and paste, be sure to remove any spaces that result. I imagine the same is in your post, where there is a space between 192.168. and 0.221 in your file server address)

Thiel2, thank you for the assistance on this, I was back on-site today and I still do not know what the issue was but it is now working with no changes. The only thing I did was reset the phone 2 additional times and now it has not problems, nothing was changed on the switches or on the IPO 500v2. The phones were factory reset yesterday and many times before this and it did not solve anything so I am not sure why the last time it worked. Do the 9608 phones keep old routes in their memory at times which could have caused this?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31 PM.