Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Mobile Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   EC500 mobile for international calling (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=413)

scottmccoy 10-13-2010 03:05 PM

EC500 mobile for international calling
 
I wanted to find a document to utilize my switches international trunks from a mobile device utilizing EC500. Any info is appreciated. To avoid international rates on mobile devices I was looking to dial into the switch utilize an EC500 station and enter feature access code and then dial international utilizing the international trunks (rates) off the switch.

kantr 10-21-2010 06:39 AM

Hi Scott,

This is what I understand as your situation and requirement.

You wish to call up someone who is out of your country, so, for you to call up from your phone(homephone/cellphone), you will have to pay International call-rates.

However, you have an Avaya switch with International trunk line. So, you wish to use this trunk to dial out. And, for doing so, you want to use your cellphone which is an EC500 number to one of internal extensions on the Avaya PBX... And hence, you want to use your EC500 mapped cellphone and via some FAC-code, you wish to make your outbound call using the PBX.

This is my understanding.
=========

As far as my understanding and experience with EC500 goes, this is not possible. EC500 feature is used to send the call from PBX to cellphone. This communication is possible only 1-way.

However, we have another CM feature with which your request could be realised(provided my understanding to the issue is 100% correct).

This feature is called REMOTE ACCESS. This feature enables an user to get access to his PBX station from outside world. Once having the access, you can use your homephone to make all the needed calls. You can further do a read-up on it at the URL:
http://support.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/003841834
Kindly browse to the Page # 1261, here, the feature is explained in the nutshell.

Should you need any further assistance on this, you are requested to open a Maestro Case.

Regards,
Rudra Kant

syates 03-10-2011 06:22 PM

EC500 - off pbx station mapping
 
You can do what you want, by using change off-pbx feat (off-pbx-telephone station mapping and feature-name-extensions). Build a DID extension for idle appearance select, then add that number to your EC500 cell phone's speed dial and you get dial tone from the pbx. This works only with phones that are registered through the EC500/off-pbx map, so it is not a security risk for just any phone to dial in. Gives you 4 or 5 digit extension dialing too.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 AM.