Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Voicemail Pro backup server installation (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6611)

chart4 06-12-2015 09:31 AM

Voicemail Pro backup server installation
 
Hello,

Have a question on the installation of a Voicemail Pro backup server. The IP office is centralize and has been running for some time and we are working to setup a backup server. I have two main questions:

1. Once the backup server is operational and you have Voicemail Pro installed and the server IP is set in your IP office as the backup -- Do yo have to do a restore from the primary server to get your groups, users, and modules to populate the backup server?

2. In the SMTP settings on both the primary and backup voicemail Pro server under the sender tab - can you use local host machine names or do the Voicemail Pro servers need to be on the domain and fully qualified?

ista4 06-13-2015 03:59 AM

First you need to be sure (on windows) that IIS and SMTP are installed before VMPro is.
If that is not the case then reinstall all from scratch.
If your system is Linux based then this does not apply.

You can enter the IP address of the system itself.
You should not need to use DNS names as the server edition itself doesn't use that either.

chart4 06-15-2015 01:40 PM

folowup on Voicemail Pro
 
The IIS was installed correctly and before Voicemail Pro was installed. I can telnet from primary to backup server using port 25 and the reverse of that. The Primary server went down today and the IP office rolled voicemail to the backup server, but it didn't work correctly.

How do you get the Modules and users and other programming to the backup server?

gunth 02-10-2016 08:17 AM

Has anyone have any luck with this? I have smtp installed on both our vmpro servers (win2008 server R2), but Im having a bit of trouble getting the 2 to talk - im guessing possibly my smtp sender settings are incorrect?

kirchenlo 02-16-2016 10:14 AM

For me, this link was very helpful:

http://www.ipofficeassistance.com/ho...erver-edition/

kirchenlo 02-16-2016 10:32 AM

I have put a PDF on my Google Drive which shows the screenshots of the settings for Master and Backup.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9p...ew?usp=sharing


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 PM.