Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   WebManager accessed via FQDN vs IP shows incorrect values (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12032)

harper3 10-05-2016 08:42 AM

WebManager accessed via FQDN vs IP shows incorrect values
 
1 Attachment(s)
My Setup.
IP Office R10.0.0.1
UC Module One-X Portal, 10.0.0.1

IPO internal IP address 192.16.0.242
Internal DNS sip.powerboxinglcub.com --> 192.168.0.242

One-X Portal internal IP Address 192.168.0.243
Internal DNS xmpp.powerboxingclub.com ----> 192.168.0.243

If I open the WebManager using the internal IP Address I see an accurate representation of my system with regards to modules, licensing users etc...

If I open the WebManager using the FQDN I am able to login, but the system does not report any modules or users, even though it does show valid licensing.

See attached screenshots. ( Zipped )

zakabog 10-11-2016 12:33 PM

What is providing DNS on the network and is their a fallback DNS server that's on the public internet? Also, what DNS server is the IP Office using, and is there any reason you're trying to use a FQDN to point to a local IP address rather than just using a local hostname?

harper3 10-12-2016 07:57 PM

Turns out the problem is not just with WebManager.. its also impossible to register my Avaya Communicator for iPad, Mac, or Windows using the FQDN sip.powerboxingclub.com, not even when connected to the same internal network.
I can ping sip.powerboxinglub.com and it replies with the address 192.168.0.242, which is the IP Office.
So I can assume that DNS Resolution is working.
Internal DNS Server is Linux Bind on ClearOS, which is my DHCP, DNS, and Internet gateway.
External DNS is Godaddy.
At GoDaddy I have xmpp.powerboxingclub.com sip.powerboxingclub.com records resolving to my public IP.
In my ClearOS box, xmpp.powerboxingclub.com resolving to the One-X Portal Server's intern address of 192.168.0.243 and sip.powerboxingclub.com resolving to the LAN 1 IP Address of 192.168.0.242.

One-X Mobile Preferred works as expected with split horizon DNS, using xmpp.powerboxingclub.com

Avaya Communicator for iPad will not login at all, internal or external using the sip.powerboxingclub.com, even though when I ping sip.powerboxingclub.com it does resolve to 192.168.0.242
If I configure Avaya Communicator with the internal ip address it does connect.

IP Office is configured to use my internal DNS address of 192.168.0.1

Stumped.

zakabog 10-14-2016 09:32 AM

Avaya isn't very good at testing web based utilities, it just sounds like the mix of external and internal DNS is screwing everything up. Log into the UC Module and ping the FQDN to see what it resolves to, also I'd suggest opening your browsers developer tools to see where it's sending it's network requests (in Chrome you can do this by pressing Ctrl+Shift+I, or in most browsers just right click and do "Inspect" and then click the "Network" tab and reload the page

harper3 10-17-2016 04:25 PM

Pings from UC Module look correct.


[root@xmpp ~]# ping sip.powerboxingclub.com
PING sip.powerboxingclub.com (192.168.0.242) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from sip.powerboxingclub.com (192.168.0.242): icmp_seq=1 ttl=99 time=3.89 ms
64 bytes from sip.powerboxingclub.com (192.168.0.242): icmp_seq=2 ttl=99 time=2.32 ms
64 bytes from sip.powerboxingclub.com (192.168.0.242): icmp_seq=3 ttl=99 time=2.32 ms

[root@xmpp ~]# ping xmpp.powerboxingclub.com
PING xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.118 ms
64 bytes from xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.123 ms
64 bytes from xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.210 ms
64 bytes from xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.176 ms


Everything resolves, and I've formatted my SD Card twice now. Is anyone else on this thread running IPO 10 on a 500v2. I've changes my DNS server from Bind to DNSMasq. Same problem every time.

harper3 03-16-2018 07:44 PM

Still an issue
 
This is still an issue, even after updating to R10.1

When I connect to WebManager from internal IP, everything works as it should.
When I connect to WebManger from Domain name internally, I see no users, but all licenses show as valid.
When Connect to WebManager externally from public IP, I see no users, but all licenses show valid.
When I connect to WebManager externally from FQND, I see no users, but all licenses show valid.

In short, the only time I can connect to WebManager and have full access to create users, is when I connect internally using the internal private IP.

Can't figure this out.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 AM.