Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Avaya Networking Products (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   ESR 3500 Series issues (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4520)

khilwo 04-21-2014 02:24 PM

ESR 3500 Series issues
 
Hello,

We are running 4 ERS 3526T-PWR+ Network Switches throughout our company. We have a few PoE wireless access devices that are connected to these switches. On more than one occasion we have lost connectivity to these switches, but they appear to be still working.

Example: Switches are still on, and lights are still flashing, but we are unable to get to the management webpage via web browser to the switch IP address. When the devices goes into this "hung up" mode it is also strange as the ports still continue to flash activity even after a network cable is unplugged from a port. To see a video of what this looks like go to the following Video

Is there possibly a firmware update that fixes this? They are currently showing the following HW/SW settings
Ethernet Routing Switch 3526T-PWR+ HW:01 FW:1.0.0.4 SW:v5.0.0.008 BN:08 (c) Avaya Networks

Thank you

rameshng 04-22-2014 12:54 AM

While you say your switches are in the hung mode, could you able to connect a console cable and check whether you are getting an output on this?
If the switches still showing activity, you might only have lost the management connectivity, but switch may still be forwarding traffic.
How about your connected clients on access points? Are they still working and able to communicate to other clients in network?


the best thing is to check whether the management is still active on console.

khilwo 04-22-2014 04:45 PM

The connected clients are still functioning as per usual. Other than the clients that had their computers turned off, the rest are still working.

I just checked and the lights are still on for the ports that I have disconnected devices from.

I will check on the console port and report on that.

onikolaisen 05-08-2014 11:46 PM

Upgrade to 5.1.2.0
 
I've had the same issue with all models of the 3500-series switches, mostly on the 5.0.x-release. Upgrading to 5.1.2.0 should fix this, ref. release notes:
Switch unreachable via management VLAN (wi01152217)

Best regards,
Řyvind Nikolaisen

rojas65 07-07-2014 09:46 PM

im getting the same problem as khilwo, with the same switches and sw/fw versions.

Where i can find the updates for that model (3526T-PWR+) ???

the console also hung-up, but the switch still working as usual. im monitoring the switches with cacti and snmp shows that switch has lost connectivity.

khilwo 07-08-2014 09:34 AM

I have updated my switches to this newer version and they have been working great since.

Enjoy!

3500_10012_diag.bin
3500_520004.img
Boot_loader_upgrade_procedures.docx
ERS3500_b1_0_0_4.bin
rel_Notes.pdf

rojas65 07-08-2014 10:41 AM

thanks khilwo,

i will try it and will tell you how it was.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:32 PM.