Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Avaya Networking Products (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   VSP 7024 upgrade path and version advice (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11241)

bettei 04-04-2016 08:51 AM

VSP 7024 upgrade path and version advice
 
Hello,

I have 3 VSP7024 switches running with ISIS SPBM and a fiber ring between my 3 datacentres. This is all working very nice.

Current version:
sysDescr: Virtual Services Platform 7024XLS
HW:06 FW:10.3.1.4 SW:v10.3.1.005
Mfg Date:20140120 HW Dev:none

Now I want to upgrade, and I know that I will have to take down a datacentre, upgrade the switch on that location and then bring the datacentre back online. I have a few questions though:

- What version should I go to? I saw that a version 10.4 is available? Is this version stable?
- Does my ISIS SPBM cloud still work after I upgraded one switch to 10.4?
- If I upgrade a switch, from 10.3.1.005 to 10.4, can I do this in one reboot? Or do I need some in between versions?
- How long is the reboot window?
- I can't locate the upgrade instructions for the VSP7000 switches, I would think that it is roughly the same as a ERS5500 upgrade, but I would like to check this before bricking my devices.


Thanks a lot,
Jan Hugo Prins

tgruber 04-30-2016 04:02 PM

Hi Jan,

Since your VSP7000s are connected in a Ring, you can upgrade one Switch at a time to minimize the outage and/or to provide a possibility for critical Services to fail over.

As for your questions:
- What version should I go to? I saw that a version 10.4 is available? Is this version stable?
=> 10.4 seems stable to us. We are running 10.4 at several Customer sites with no issues.
- Does my ISIS SPBM cloud still work after I upgraded one switch to 10.4?
=> Yes it will. Also 10.4 and 10.3.1 are compatible (SPBm-wise). So the Adjacencies should come up fine after upgrading one Switch.
- If I upgrade a switch, from 10.3.1.005 to 10.4, can I do this in one reboot? Or do I need some in between versions?
=> There is no Upgrade path needed. You can upgrade directly to 10.4
- How long is the reboot window?
=> a VSP7000 takes about 2-3 minutes to boot
- I can't locate the upgrade instructions for the VSP7000 switches, I would think that it is roughly the same as a ERS5500 upgrade, but I would like to check this before bricking my devices.
=> The upgrade instructions are in the Release Notes to the V10.4. It starts on Page 26

https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/101013165

Cheers
Thomas

brydo 06-09-2016 07:56 AM

Running 10.4.0.003
 
Hi,

I'm running 10.4.0.003 as my pervious version was losing Adjacencies with a ERS4850 (running a contact centre)

This 10.4.0.003 has saved my job, Yes I would say it was stable. As for instructions I backed up my switches and ran the upgrade instructions from the support info... it was down for a reboot... and back up, (i did my opposite VSP4000 at the same time)

since 10.4.0.003 i've had no issues and have zero call outs due to loss of LAN/telephony.

citycritmgmt 08-19-2016 06:08 AM

Just FYI for everyone out there. If you are in rear port mode SPB with a rear cable on ports 33-40, you need to do a phased upgrade from 10.2.1 even though the documentation says it's a direct upgrade.

10.2.1 -> 10.3.3 -> 10.4.1 or 10.2.1 -> 10.4.0 -> 10.4.1

If you don't, you get SPB flapping on the rear trunks. This bit us and we're currently working with support on it.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 AM.