Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Support Site Feedback Community (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Remote Fax to Fax server (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6445)

lwiddo 05-13-2015 09:18 AM

Remote Fax to Fax server
 
We have a branch office that will have a fax line installed onto a Analog trunk and we have a new fax server at our main location. How would you forward that line to the fax server? Through a SIP Trunk? Any thoughts helpful.
Thanks

marzahn 05-15-2015 02:54 PM

My answer(s) Depend On Yoiur Current or Planned Equipment
 
First off my understanding is that transmitting facsimile documents over SIP trunking produces "unpredictable results.":( So I would install at least 2 POTS lines. You need the one you are considering for the fax service and possiply one to route the call on to the main office. However what I think you are considering may, in fact, have a better solution.

You should really have more POTS lines as backups. Also you have E911 to consider.;)



Setting the E911 issue aside, I can think of at least two ways to proceed depending on the equipment you currently have or plan to have on site. So let's start with a few questions::confused:
  • How is the branch office physical layer configured?
  • Are you using Digital, IP, or SIP desksets?
  • Do you have a local survivable processor (LSP)?
  • If no LSP, are you considering installing a G450 Gateway, LSP and Analog board? ($$)
  • Do you receive calls from a local trunk or from a data link to the main office.
  • How close are the two buildings? Same state? Same campus? different state?
  • Am I correct that you had a fax machine in the branch office and now want to send inbound transmissions to a fax server in the main office?
  • Is your email handled by an Exchange or Lotus Notes server?
  • Is that server in the main office?
  • Did you initially have a fax machine in the "branch office?"
  • Is there currently a fax number "assigned" to the branch office?
I believe I can give you a leg up once I have these answers.:)

marzahn 05-15-2015 03:04 PM

Should We or an Admin move this to "Enterprise PBX Communications Systems?"
 
This is probably not the place for this discussion.:)

lwiddo 05-19-2015 08:12 AM

Hey Bill
Thanks for your reply. I will try to answer your questions to the best of my ability. I am just starting to learn this system in depth to alleviate to costs.
1. Physical layer configured? Not sure however I would say yes
2. We are using IP 9620 phones however we are also working with a Phybridge system
3. Not sure with the LSP, but I don't think so
4. Calls are received on a local trunk
5. Buildings are in the same province however 300KM away from each other
6. Yes you are correct, we want to send this to the fax server at the main office
7. We are on lotus notes
8. Yes the server is at the main office
9. Yes we have a fax machine at the branch office
10. Yes there is a fax number assigned to that fax machine.

Thanks again and appreciate your time.

Lee

marzahn 05-19-2015 08:49 AM

More Questions and a Possible Solution
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lwiddo (Post 17177)
Hey Bill
Thanks for your reply. I will try to answer your questions to the best of my ability. I am just starting to learn this system in depth to alleviate to costs.
1. Physical layer configured? Not sure however I would say yes
2. We are using IP 9620 phones however we are also working with a Phybridge system
3. Not sure with the LSP, but I don't think so
4. Calls are received on a local trunk
5. Buildings are in the same province however 300KM away from each other
6. Yes you are correct, we want to send this to the fax server at the main office
7. We are on lotus notes
8. Yes the server is at the main office
9. Yes we have a fax machine at the branch office
10. Yes there is a fax number assigned to that fax machine.

Thanks again and appreciate your time.

Lee

If you want to make this easy, just set up a Toll-free number that points to your main office fax server. That has the benefit of offering multiple simultanious fax transmissions. If you are set on forwarding from the fax line, I will need to know how telecommunications are set up at the branch office.
  • Why do you want to forward calls? Remember that if yoiu do this, it will only be able to handle one call at a time.
  • Will you be using the local fax machine as a backup to the fax server? I have a way to route calls to the fax machine on to the fax server. It is reversable if the fax server quite. But this requires a POTS line or a ISDN/PRI trunk. That's my reference to physical layer. Perhaps I should have asked what carrier facilities are connected tothe branch office?
  • Do calls go to the main office and reroute to the branch?
  • Or do calls come directly to the branch? If so, it is likely that you have Trunks coming into the branch and a local survivable processor (LSP) there as well.
Are we getting closer to yoiur answer?:)

lwiddo 05-20-2015 10:04 AM

Yeah I think we are getting there. LOL!!
So we have a POTS line coming into the branch,
the calls come directly into the branch and would like to re-route them to main office (fax server).
So here is my logic, have the line connected to, for aguments sake, port 12 (analogue trunk) on the Combo card, label it with the phone number, then create a new Incoming Call Route with that number, then input a short code to forward to the Fax Server.
Not sure how good my logic is... LOL!!
Let me know your thoughts.
Thanks
Lee

marzahn 05-20-2015 01:10 PM

Are You Giving Up On the Local Fax Machine?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lwiddo (Post 17293)
Yeah I think we are getting there. LOL!!
So we have a POTS line coming into the branch,
the calls come directly into the branch and would like to re-route them to main office (fax server).
So here is my logic, have the line connected to, for aguments sake, port 12 (analogue trunk) on the Combo card, label it with the phone number, then create a new Incoming Call Route with that number, then input a short code to forward to the Fax Server.
Not sure how good my logic is... LOL!!
Let me know your thoughts.
Thanks
Lee

It seems like I have nothing but questions for you :rolleyes: I'm trying to do the right thing here. However I still do not have a clear picture of what Avaya equipment you have at the branch. I gather from what you have said that you have only one POTS line and some kind of SIP facility coming into your building. Please confirm or correct my picture.:)

Do you have a local processor in that office? Or do all calls come into the main office whereupon they are rounted in and out over the sip trunk(s). That's the way two of our branches work. So it's not uncommon.

The reason I ask is that it makes a difference on how I can help you. Without a local Avaya S8300 Media Server, I have no way to do the routing for you. That leaves us with setting up something like an astgerisk server there, Or better yet, working with your carrier for a solution. There are solutions they can offer depending on who they are that could mean a "no muss and no fuss" solution for very little cost.

By the way how are you handling 911 calls? Without this, your firm risks exposure to lawsuits :eek:should someone need but not get quick access to "first responders."

johns1224 05-13-2017 04:03 AM

It's okay marzahn, questions are needed to solve a problem. It's great that you're helping someone until the problem gets solved. Good job!

cartw7 06-03-2017 08:50 PM

I agree with, John. You're doing a good job, Bill. All of us appreciate it. Thank you!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 AM.