Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Looking for feedback on IP Office UC Module users (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11165)

crock9 03-22-2016 07:30 AM

Looking for feedback on IP Office UC Module users
 
Curious if anyone can provide feed back on the UC module for IP Office?

We have deployed the UC Module V1 in the past and it was highly problematic. I've heard that the UC Module V2 has been greatly improved however would like to solicit feedback from anyone here that has experience with it.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

weiss1 05-21-2016 05:21 AM

If considering the following:
- UCMv2 comes without VMPro license.
I.e. you need to purchease a license anyway.

- For UCMv1, take the difference between the price for UCMv1 and VMPro, then you know the price of the server.

So compare the price for UCMv2 and a (mayby small) server to install VMPro and eventually 1XP.
With this server, you can do more, like installing IPO Manager and Remote Access tools, etc.

Never again UCM...

zakabog 05-26-2016 10:30 AM

The UC Module is quite awful, unless you have an HDMI monitor hooked up to it you really have no idea what it's doing during the install process and there's no easy way to make the thing work. I went through the entire install process yesterday and eventually I got a "USB Failure" message in System Status. Then the UC Module would no longer boot from the USB drive, I eventually dragged the IP Office to a large TV and hooked it up there to see what it was doing, I had to force it to boot USB and when I got that USB Failure message again the installer seemed like it locked up. After waiting about 10-15 minutes it eventually moved on and the progress bar started moving.

If the thing was easier to setup/troubleshoot or if it had a serial port on it (or even VGA, something that you can just hook up to any monitor in a typical server room) then MAYBE I'd consider using it, but as it is now it's still quite awful and you're way better off buying a dedicated server (even just a cheap Windows desktop machine running VM Pro would be much better.)

rschild 07-13-2016 10:10 AM

UCM v2
 
I guess its really quite charming to have all in the box... but after using it already at two sites I will always prefer a stand alone server... It seems not to be the most stable module that has been build ... always have small performing issues and need often a reboot to get back again...

cheers,

Rainer

abrah25 08-04-2016 03:45 PM

Terrible. I would not wish this thing on my worst enemy.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 PM.