Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Ip Office Server edition - Server Type (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12199)

leal19 11-22-2016 05:45 PM

Ip Office Server edition - Server Type
 
I am installing an IP Office on Dell R220.
Also I added an HD 500Gb to Contact Recorder.
At the same location I will have an IPO 500 V2.
On a second location I will have another IPO 500 V2.

At the ignition process I found those options:
Primary, Secondary, Expansion or Application Server.

I am wondering what is the difference between Primary and Application Server?
Can I select as an application server, because I will have an IPO500 V2 at the same location?

markgallagher 11-23-2016 12:23 AM

Frankly, that is not a question that someone in the process of installing a system should be asking.

If you install as a primary it will be an IP Office system with Voicemail Pro and one-X Portal and will require licenses to operate.

If you install as a secondary or expansion it will be to act as an additional IP Office in a network that already has a primary IP Office (and will need additional licenses on that primary).

If you install as an application server, then it runs Voicemail Pro and one-X Portal and can be used to provide those services to an existing IP500 V2, if the V2 has licenses for those services.

There are manuals for all of this.

furrerm 11-23-2016 07:02 AM

I agree with mark. If you are asking that question, please have someone else install the system.

leal19 11-23-2016 01:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by markgallagher (Post 29088)
Frankly, that is not a question that someone in the process of installing a system should be asking.

If you install as a primary it will be an IP Office system with Voicemail Pro and one-X Portal and will require licenses to operate.

If you install as a secondary or expansion it will be to act as an additional IP Office in a network that already has a primary IP Office (and will need additional licenses on that primary).

If you install as an application server, then it runs Voicemail Pro and one-X Portal and can be used to provide those services to an existing IP500 V2, if the V2 has licenses for those services.

There are manuals for all of this.

Thank you for reply,
I am not on charge of this installation. There is another person, I am just over the shoulder and it is just a way to ask a question and go deeper.

If I am asking here it is because I also look at the doc. Deploying IP Office Server Edition Solution_en.pdf and could not find any information beyond the basics.

So basically it is a matter if licensing.

leal19 11-23-2016 01:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by furrerm (Post 29091)
I agree with mark. If you are asking that question, please have someone else install the system.

That is it that you have?
Just agree?

thiel2 11-23-2016 02:08 PM

It's a matter of what you want the server to do.

If you are deploying IP Office Server Edition, and using the 2 IP 500 V2 Control Units as expansion systems, you want to ignite it as Primary Server Edition.

If the 2 IP 500 V2 Control Units are just connected to each other via a SCN, and you want to use the server to provide Voicemail and One-X Portal, ignite it as Application Server.

Be sure you know what you're deploying, as you can't go back once you've ignited it, you have to delete the virtual machine and start over. I've had installations where it was supposed to be the Application Server, others staged the equipment and shipped on site, found they had deployed it as Server Edition instead of Application Server, and had to do several hours of work to set it straight.

leal19 11-23-2016 02:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thiel2 (Post 29097)
It's a matter of what you want the server to do.

If you are deploying IP Office Server Edition, and using the 2 IP 500 V2 Control Units as expansion systems, you want to ignite it as Primary Server Edition.

If the 2 IP 500 V2 Control Units are just connected to each other via a SCN, and you want to use the server to provide Voicemail and One-X Portal, ignite it as Application Server.

Be sure you know what you're deploying, as you can't go back once you've ignited it, you have to delete the virtual machine and start over. I've had installations where it was supposed to be the Application Server, others staged the equipment and shipped on site, found they had deployed it as Server Edition instead of Application Server, and had to do several hours of work to set it straight.

Thank you for reply,

I read all the manual Deploying Server Edition and I know that you cannot undo the ignition process.
I just couldn't find anything more specific regarding different scenarios and diagrams.
But now it is clear.

markgallagher 11-24-2016 12:50 AM

Just to quote your original question "I am installing ..."

koredeo 03-12-2018 05:16 AM

lolz funny


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 PM.