Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   IP Telephony and Convergence (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Avaya Softphone Issues (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6525)

echol 05-27-2015 11:53 AM

Avaya Softphone Issues
 
First Post, Not sure if I am in the right place but here goes:

I work for a company which is utilizing Avaya Softphone for a Call Center.

More often than naught, the Call Center Agents report various issues such as:

Software Crashing
Calls Dropping
Not being able to Pick up calls etc.

Issues are still occurring even after upgrading machines to Windows 7 64-bit to utilize 8 gigs of RAM

If anyone can offer some guidance with this please let me know. I will try to provide as much troubleshooting info as possible.

ferna272 05-27-2015 01:23 PM

What is the Avaya One-X version?

aa1 05-28-2015 01:59 AM

Avaya Softphone Issues - more details
 
You're in the right place. I am sorry to hear about these issues. They are definitely not good. can you provide more details? let's start with these:

- what is the exact software (IP Softphone, OneX Communicator, OneX Agent, ......)?
- What is the exact version of the software?
- Are all the users experiencing it? Or only a specific set of users?
- what were they doing with these issues occur? (Did the application crash in the middle of the call?, did it crash when they try to answer? Or when they put on hold? or when they transfer the call? such details will help us narrow down the problem
- Is the softphone running in SIP or H.323 mode

let's get some background and then we can go forward from there.

Arbi

echol 05-28-2015 05:46 AM

Ok. There is a lot going on here but here is what I know so far:

Some users are still using 32-bit machines -_-. Once I swapped with a 64 bit they seemed to be okay...

For those with 64-bit machines already they have the following installed:

Avaya Aura Agent Desktop 6.0, App Ver. 12.120.190.1213
Softphone App ver. 32.6.8975


I am not familiar with either software. Still learning what I can. The Agents tell me that they can use either one to answer calls but most use Softphone.

The issues tend to occur randomly, with the most common issue being dropped calls in the middle of a call and when they try to transfer a call.

Yesterday I witnessed first-hand a user not get any calls at all despite being in the ready status. This was with a 32-bit machine, but users with 64-bit have stated this has happened to them as well.

I will try today to gain some more info today. Will Dump files be helpful as well? And is Avaya One some kind of server software? because i dont see it installed on any local workstations.

Thanks for the Help :D

aa1 05-28-2015 12:01 PM

Avaya Aura Desktop Agent
 
let's start with this
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100178582

This is part of Avaya Aura Contact Center.

Are the agents using the desktop agent in deskphone mode, or softphone mode?

Where do you see "Avaya One"? We do have desktop client applications such as "Avaya OneX Agent, Avaya OneX Communicator..." but these are different than the Avaya Aura Desktop Agent

Arbi

vary1 05-29-2015 10:10 AM

We have a similer setup
 
We have a similer setup with some of our agents. The problems your experianceing sound like what we went through when we set up the remote contact center and had to have the agents use Soft Phones. instead of the hard phones. A couple of things we found.
1.) The soft phone in AACC is SIP but it can control the hard phone.
2.) The H.323 hard phone can be replaced with a H.323 softphone using one-x communicator. and not have to change out configurations.
3.) our remote agents launch the one-X xommunicator first to establish the H.323 then launch the agent desktop so the AACC softphone can control the one-x communicator.
4.) by using both SIP and H.323 we do not have IP stack conflicts on the machine side.

Feel free to contact me if you need help trying to isolate what is happening.

dupl7 06-02-2015 02:20 AM

Softphone Issue
 
Hi,

Just a quick question, There is a specific QOS patch that resolves desktop drops and crashes on the client...I would confirm that this has been installed as it can cause issues

echol 06-03-2015 06:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dupl7 (Post 17702)
Hi,

Just a quick question, There is a specific QOS patch that resolves desktop drops and crashes on the client...I would confirm that this has been installed as it can cause issues

Where can I find this patch? What is it called?

echol 06-03-2015 07:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aa1 (Post 17613)
let's start with this
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100178582

This is part of Avaya Aura Contact Center.

Are the agents using the desktop agent in deskphone mode, or softphone mode?

Where do you see "Avaya One"? We do have desktop client applications such as "Avaya OneX Agent, Avaya OneX Communicator..." but these are different than the Avaya Aura Desktop Agent

Arbi

Thanks for the manual.

We are looking into which mode they might be using,

And in regards to the Avaya One question, I was addressing a previous poster who asked which version of Avaya One X we were using, which I now know we don't use.

dupl7 06-05-2015 03:19 AM

Avaya Softphone Issue
 
If you go onto the Avaya Support site and select AACC, you will see under the downloads section of AACC,


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 PM.