Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Avaya Aura & Unified Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Communication Manager upgrade from CM 5.2.1 to CM 6.3.11 (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10280)

mlashe 08-05-2015 11:12 PM

Communication Manager upgrade from CM 5.2.1 to CM 6.3.11
 
The Solution is two duplex servers S8730 on main site and two duolex server S8730 on ESS site, both are running CM 5.2.1.

Steps to upgrade:
Upgrade ESS first, then upgrade the CM.

My queries are,
- Can i upgrade directly from CM 5.2.1 with (pre-upgrade patch) and resore to CM 6.3.11 directly, or have to upgrade to CM 6.3.0 then install SP11

- While upgrading ESS, is there any need to backup and restore on ESS server, or just to unplug the old server and plug the new configured server. as the configuration is pushed from the main server.

evertw 08-13-2015 11:29 AM

The S8730 servers are not supported so you need to install new servers with 6.3.11 and then restore the backup.

The ESS you don't have to restore. You can push it from the main. If you do this 1 week in advance it can be that the server it not synchronized(you need to test) so you could restore it

richa164 08-14-2015 04:52 AM

As stated hardware required , but yes run the upgrade patch on the cm 5.2.1 backup the data sets security etc , Build the cm6 patch , and the restore backups from cm5.

Be aware that if you are using G650`s CNC will need to be in place , unless you have routing between cn A and B if currently in use , that said CNC is the recommended method by avaya.

mlashe 08-14-2015 06:28 AM

As i knew lately per security matrix document, Patch (SP11) will be applied after restoring the translations on Main CM 6.3.0.

the upgrade will be CM 5.2.1+ Preupgrade patch --> restore on CM 6.3.0 --> then apply the Patch.

And per my understanding to ESS, there is no need to restore configuration on ESS, we can push it from CM 5.2.1.

Are there any differences for port matrix from CM 5.2.1 to CM 6.3?

mlashe 09-08-2015 02:45 AM

Hi All,

If ESS 6.3 is controlling all PN's, and Main 5.2 will be replaced to 6.3 as well, will new main will be able to get forced the port networks from ESS?
taking into consideration that new Main 6.3 have different SID from old Main 5.2.

garsh 09-08-2015 11:09 AM

Polycomm VVX series phones on AVAYA C
 
Does anyone know if the Polycom VVX 201 phone is compatible with AVAYA Communication Manager 6.0?

adpereira 02-03-2016 06:13 AM

Step by step Upgrade CM 5.2 to 6.3
 
Hello experts!

I need your help please.

I need to know how to upgrade CM from 5.2 to 6.3. I have been reading articles, documentation and so on.

I describe below the steps. Could you check, if them are correct, please?

- Backup CM 5.2
- deploy patch pré-upgrade
- deploy system plat 6.0 on new servers
- deploy CM 6 on system plat;
- restore do CM 5.2 on CM 6.3

Do I need do ESS first, correct?

Thank you so much.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.