Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   IP Telephony and Convergence (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   G450 TFTP - General failure (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11198)

tonycalkins 03-24-2016 01:25 PM

G450 TFTP - General failure
 
We are preparing for upgrade to CM 6.3 so I have been tasked with upgrading all of our hardware firmware.

I have been able to use my TFTP server to upgrade every G450 and Media Module except for one G450 and it's installed media modules.

I get a TFTP - General failure trying to copy the g450 firmware to the inactive image file. I also get the same error trying to update the media modules.

The G450 has two images on it right now, 31.20.1 and 32.24.0. I have tried running the copy tftp command while the G450 was running either software version and I get the same error.

Upgrading the G450 to version 36.16.0 from either 31.20.1 or 32.24.0 fails.

Upgrading the mm716 from 98 to 100 fails.

Upgrading the mm711 from 98 to 100 fails.

I have even tried using the TFTP on the S8300D that is installed in this G450 and I get the same error.

dupl7 04-12-2016 02:09 PM

G450 Upgrade
 
Connect a cross-over cable between "ETH LAN" port "5" and your laptop. (or just connect your laptop on network)

* Configure an IP address for you laptop within the range of the gateway.

* Install and configure a TFTP Server on your laptop(Make sure local laptop firewall allows TFTP)

* Copy the firmware into a folder which you specified for firmware in the TFTP Server 2000 setup.

* To copy MGP firmware type the below:

copy tftp SW_imageA "filename" IP address (laptop IP)

"copy tftp SW_imageA g450_sw_28_22_1.bin 172.27.25.190"

"copy tftp SW_imageB g450_sw_28_22_1.bin 172.27.25.190"


* At the prompt proceed by selecting "yes".

* Type "show download software status 10" to see the firmware download progress.

* Type "show image version" to see the firmware version.

tonycalkins 04-12-2016 02:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dupl7 (Post 25683)
Connect a cross-over cable between "ETH LAN" port "5" and your laptop. (or just connect your laptop on network)

* Configure an IP address for you laptop within the range of the gateway.

* Install and configure a TFTP Server on your laptop(Make sure local laptop firewall allows TFTP)

* Copy the firmware into a folder which you specified for firmware in the TFTP Server 2000 setup.

* To copy MGP firmware type the below:

copy tftp SW_imageA "filename" IP address (laptop IP)

"copy tftp SW_imageA g450_sw_28_22_1.bin 172.27.25.190"

"copy tftp SW_imageB g450_sw_28_22_1.bin 172.27.25.190"


* At the prompt proceed by selecting "yes".

* Type "show download software status 10" to see the firmware download progress.

* Type "show image version" to see the firmware version.

Except that this upgrade is being done remotely. I know I can do it in person but we are trying to save money by not having me fly from Arkansas to Gdansk Poland.

dupl7 05-11-2016 05:58 AM

Tftp
 
Hi,
The issue with doing it remotely is, where is your TFTP server located...if it is local to you but remote to gateway which needs to connect over WAN...there might be firewall blockages.

Try this....Copy the firmware of the gateway and mm board into the /tftpboot directory of CM...and change the tftp ip to the local CM server onsite...when a TFTP request is sent it will be forwarded to the /tftpboot directory on CM

tonycalkins 05-11-2016 07:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dupl7 (Post 26371)
Hi,
The issue with doing it remotely is, where is your TFTP server located...if it is local to you but remote to gateway which needs to connect over WAN...there might be firewall blockages.

Try this....Copy the firmware of the gateway and mm board into the /tftpboot directory of CM...and change the tftp ip to the local CM server onsite...when a TFTP request is sent it will be forwarded to the /tftpboot directory on CM

What I did was use the Utility Services on the local LSP. So it appears it was a firewall issue even though my security team said it was not. Problems with dealing multiple security teams on separate continents.

Thanks for your reply.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 PM.