Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   IP Telephony and Convergence (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Media Gateway Temp Warnings and SNMP Traps (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3461)

davis124 06-12-2013 12:26 PM

Media Gateway Temp Warnings and SNMP Traps
 
Can someone tell me if the G450/430s get a High CPU Temp warning, are they suppose to throw a SNMP Trap somewhere warning of the problem?

I have two G450s that are in High TEMP warnings and we did not get SNMP notification about the problem, it took a Cisco switch in the closet to warn us, so we are looking to see if the Telecom equipment can also produce that SNMP Trap as well.

I am thinking it should have warned us, and we get other traps from these gateways but I can't make heads or tails on how to set the SNMP Traps for High Temp warnings.

Thanks -

James

sharma16 06-12-2013 05:03 PM

Hi,

yes it sends an alarm "
[GW_ENV 10 MAJ Y]
"

and below command on MG will show the environment Info
>
show temp
>
show fans

>
show volt

>
show faults

Thanks.

sharma16 06-12-2013 05:49 PM

also check what option has been set on set option page

set options Page 2 of 22
ALARM REPORTING OPTIONS
Major Minor
Off-board Firmware Download Alarms: w
Off-board Signaling Group Alarms: m
Remote Max Alarms: w
CLAN Ping Alarms: m
H.248 Media Gateway Alarms: m w

davis124 06-25-2013 12:51 PM

Ok so there are two items to discuss in the responses:

1 - So it should alarm, but what would keep it from alarming via SNMP? We see these Gateways from time to time over temp, but it fails to send an SNMP Alarm to either the S8730 (Which might be answered by the 2nd response as to why) or our own internal SNMP Trap Receiver.

If we hammer on the SNMP Config (By doing a disable/re-enable of the SNMP reporting) on the G450 for a bit it may spit out the SNMP alarm, but for the most part these gateways will not alarm that trap out for some reason. I wished these gateways had a test SNMP Trap to make sure it's working correctly (Like the S8730 has the command to send a test alarm to the SNMP trap receiver).



2 - Set Options is not a valid command for a Customer Login, nor can we see it. Also doesn't that just affect how CM will react to the SNMP trap? Is this an Avaya option that needs to be set or is there another way around that?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.