Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Avaya Networking Products (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Avaya ERS 4524GT-PWR dropping power to Avaya phones (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10362)

ceped2 08-26-2015 03:17 PM

Avaya ERS 4524GT-PWR dropping power to Avaya phones
 
Hi,

A customer has an ERS4524-GT-PWR and after replacing the switch the issue continues. The problem is power dropping from POE ports, not all ports have phones attached.

Can someone shed a light?

************************************************** **************************


4524GT-PWR#sho sys-info
Operation Mode: Switch
MAC Address:
PoE Module FW: 4.0.0.14
Reset Count: 15
Last Reset Type: Power Cycle
Power Status: Primary Power
Autotopology: Enabled
Pluggable Port 21: None
Pluggable Port 22: None
Pluggable Port 23: None
Pluggable Port 24: None
Base Unit Selection: Base unit using rear-panel switch
sysDescr: Ethernet Routing Switch 4524GT-PWR
HW:07 FW:5.3.0.3 SW:v5.7.2.013
Mfg Date:20120914 HW Dev:
Serial #:
Operational Software: FW:5.3.0.3 SW:v5.7.2.013
Installed software: FW:5.3.0.3 SW:v5.7.2.013
Operational license: Base software
Installed license: Base software
sysObjectID: 1.3.6.1.4.1.45.3.71.11
sysUpTime: 1 day, 02:56:52
sysNtpTime: 2015-08-26 22:13:49 GMT+00:00
sysServices: 6


************************************************** **************************

4524GT-PWR#sho poe-power-measurement
Port Volt(V) Current(mA) Power(Watt)
---- ------- ----------- ---------------
1 47.7 67 3.195
2 0.0 0 0.000
3 48.0 73 3.504
4 47.7 74 3.529
5 0.0 0 0.000
6 47.5 71 3.372
7 0.0 0 0.000
8 47.7 71 3.386
9 47.5 65 3.087
10 0.0 0 0.000
11 0.0 0 0.000
12 47.5 70 3.325
13 47.9 73 3.496
14 0.0 0 0.000
15 0.0 0 0.000
16 0.0 0 0.000
17 47.6 67 3.189
18 0.0 0 0.000
19 47.5 73 3.467
20 47.5 67 3.182
21 0.0 0 0.000
22 47.6 69 3.284
23 47.6 75 3.570
24 0.0 0 0.000
************************************************** **************************

4524GT-PWR#sho poe-port-status
Admin Current Limit
Port Status Status Classification (Watts) Priority
---- ------- ----------------- -------------- ------- --------
1 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
2 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
3 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
4 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
5 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
6 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
7 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
8 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
9 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
10 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
11 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
12 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
13 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
14 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
15 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
16 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
17 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
18 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
19 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
20 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
21 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
22 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
23 Enable Delivering Power 2 16 Low
24 Enable Detecting 0 16 Low
************************************************** **************************
4524GT-PWR#sho poe-main-status
PoE Main Status - Stand-alone
--------------------------------------------------
Available DTE Power : 360 Watts
DTE Power Status : Normal
DTE Power Consumption : 42 Watts
DTE Power Usage Threshold : 80 %
PD Detect Type : 802.3af and Legacy
Power Source Present : AC Only
AC Power Status : Present
DC Power Status : Not Present
IP Phone Priority : N/A
IP Phone Power Limit : N/A

zakabog 08-31-2015 01:26 PM

Can you show the log with the PoE power dropping? I had an issue where at least once a week this would happen on the same model switches and it would show "Other Fault" as the reason. Avaya had me reupload the PoE firmware and I upgraded the stack to the latest firmware version, since then the issue hasn't happened.

ceped2 10-22-2015 08:15 AM

Well, had to remove all IP Phones from that switch to avoid impact in the business; what I noticed is that the energy cable connected to the switch is not the one that comes along with the switch is a lot thinner, replaced the cable and will move some IP Phones back to the switch to check if that was the problem.

zakabog 10-23-2015 10:49 AM

That's not likely the issue, the power cable would either carry enough power, or it would melt. Try flashing the PoE image again on that switch.

vdyke 11-17-2015 07:58 AM

We have a similar problem with Aruba APs. Power won't completely drop but there is not enough power for the AP to properly come up. What I have found is that I will see on a "sh int" that the port has Flow-control disabled and, that the AP is negotiating 100mb instead of 1000. When I query the poe ports I will see that the problem ap is drawing slightly less power then the healthy ones. What is odd is that when I query lldp, the aruba says it is only capable of 10/100...yet move it to another unused port and it comes up. Main power is well under the 80% threshold - usually, at most, 50% -so it is not a load issue.

I am not sure that this applies in your case but "sh int", lldp queries, and the poe queries usually indicate the problem ports (or potentially problem ports). I will also run tdr tests with non poe devices to determine if there is an issue with the data path.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.