Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Avaya Aura & Unified Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Cannot ping or telnet servirce port on S8300D media server (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6415)

viettq 05-07-2015 11:16 PM

Cannot ping or telnet servirce port on S8300D media server
 
Dear all,
I try to telnet or ping the service for new installation on S8300D (install System Platform). but it cannot.
I setup the configuration as the guide:
  • Laptop IP Address: 192.11.13.5
  • Netmask: 255.255.255.252
  • Default gw: 192.11.13.6
  • Cable: crossover cable (I also tried an straight-cable).
Any one has faced this problem before? Pleas kindly help me.


Many thanks,
Kevin

mlombardi1 05-12-2015 05:44 AM

I've seen this many times when trying to provision a new S8300. Sometimes the server does not boot from the external CD/DVD source connected via USB. If you're trying to boot from a factory pressed Avaya DVD, try a burned copy instead. You can download the ISOs from PLDS. I've had bad luck with factory media.

Problem could also be the media drive. I keep two on-hand as S8300s are picky about what USB drives they'll work with.

viettq 05-12-2015 07:17 AM

Tks you your help. I tried another copy from Plds but it is not work.
Do you think about cable problem? What is the speed, half/ full duplex? Crossover or straight, cat5 or cat6 or cat5e?

Any shared from you will appreciate to me.

Many thanks, Kevin


Quote:

Originally Posted by mlombardi1 (Post 16999)
I've seen this many times when trying to provision a new S8300. Sometimes the server does not boot from the external CD/DVD source connected via USB. If you're trying to boot from a factory pressed Avaya DVD, try a burned copy instead. You can download the ISOs from PLDS. I've had bad luck with factory media.

Problem could also be the media drive. I keep two on-hand as S8300s are picky about what USB drives they'll work with.


mlombardi1 05-12-2015 08:12 AM

Duplex should be ok. If you get the same result with two cables and discs, problem points to the media drive. Can you hear it spin up? S8300 must boot off the drive for the services port to be pingable.

viettq 05-12-2015 08:17 AM

Yes I can hear it spin up. You think this issue is come from driver or CD Rom?


[QsUOTE=mlombardi1;17009]Duplex should be ok. If you get the same result with two cables and discs, problem points to the media drive. Can you hear it spin up? S8300 must boot off the drive for the services port to be pingable.[/QUOTE]

mlombardi1 05-12-2015 08:19 AM

Sounds like it. Try a different USB port on the S8300. Also, try changing your subnet mask to a /24 for good measure.

viettq 05-12-2015 08:35 AM

Tried to change to subnet mask 24 but nothing happen, the ip I unreachable.
I tried to switch usb1, usb2, usb3 but it still not work.
Do we need I plug the driver for the new installing system platform? Is this required?
I just want to ping the servic port firstly?

mlombardi1 05-12-2015 10:10 AM

I'd try a different USB drive. Also, make sure you're connected to the services and USB port on the S8300, not the G430 gateway.

richa164 05-15-2015 06:30 AM

This to me sounds like you are installing system platform and using a windows 7/8 laptop , if that is the case check out the below link

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXYzL6iINzE

rtrind 05-19-2015 10:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by viettq (Post 17015)
Tried to change to subnet mask 24 but nothing happen, the ip I unreachable.
I tried to switch usb1, usb2, usb3 but it still not work.
Do we need I plug the driver for the new installing system platform? Is this required?
I just want to ping the servic port firstly?


Hi viettq,

Have you tried to ping something else on a different Subnet/network, maybe you have a Firewall or something Blocking ICMP and Telnet traffic on your PC?!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 PM.