Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Small and Medium Business Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Voicemail Pro Linux upgrade question (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14150)

takah 11-27-2019 07:44 AM

Voicemail Pro Linux upgrade question
 
Hi Avaya Support Community .

Customer has Voicemail Pro Linux (Release 9.1) on VMware.

I need to upgrade the Voicemail Pro to the latest release 11.0.4.1.

Can I use Web Manager to transfer and upgrade the Application Server direct to Release 11.0.1 or do I have to go to Release 10 and then 11?


Thanks!

thiel2 11-27-2019 08:24 AM

Danger Will Robinson!!



* Server Edition or App Server MUST be on v 10.0 at least before going to r11.0+
* Updates from 9.1 and below will have nearly full /boot partitions
o We must run a script from Avaya called UpgradeKernelFix.sh
o https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/101029014 page 26

UpgradeKernelFix.sh
https://plds.avaya.com/poeticWeb/ava...ID=IPO00000554


Personally if it is on VMware? Use WinSCP to pull the Accounts, Names, Greetings, and custom Wavs to your admin computer
Run a backup from VMPro Client and save to your admin computer
Delete the virtual machine
Install the R11 ova
Restore from the backup - if it isn't possible, get it working with the IPO, let it create the Accounts folder (where all accounts will be blank)
Rename the Accounts, Name, and Greetings folders, copy in the saved folders and custom Wav files. Stop and restart Voicemail from 7071

takah 11-27-2019 08:55 AM

Thanks Thiel2.

Do you do the upgrade transfer the ISO file using Web Manager or do you upgrading using OVA and reboot using a DVD?.

I tried on my lab using Web Manager and from 9 to 10 ,took almost 3 hours to complete the upgrade.
Thanks in advance Thiel2.

thiel2 11-27-2019 03:08 PM

Upgrade via Web Manager using the iso

The ova is used when installing a new virtual machine in your ESXi environment. If deploying a new machine, go through the ignition process, make it an application server and then restore the backup.

takah 11-27-2019 03:18 PM

Double Thanks to you Thiel2
 
Thanks a lot for your answers.:)
Have a good night!
Mauricio.

takah 12-02-2019 06:18 AM

Kudos to you
 
Hi Thiel2

The upgrade went perfect last week.

Thanks a lot and Kudos to you.

Mauricio.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.