Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2013, 01:59 AM
mshrig mshrig is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
mshrig has 10 reputation points
Default Noob at Avaya and PBX

Hi guys -

I work in the IT field and am a SQL Programmer. Recently, my boss asked me if I wanted to learn some PBX and I said yes. So for one hour a week, I shadow a guy (sometimes we would miss some weeks) - and I have to admit, I'm a little confused. I don't have any networking or PBX in my background and things aren't clicking yet.

Anyway, in two weeks, the guy that I'm shadowing is giving me a little test. He is bringing in a phone and I am supposed to assign an extension to it and when called, allow it to ring three times and go to vm.


The following are some points I will be tested on. Points 4 and 5, I am clueless on. The first three points, could someone check to see if I am correct on them? Thanks for your help!

1) find an extension for the new phone (I'm assuming I use the command "list extension xxxxx count 500".)

2) Once the extension is found, then go into the station and put in the appropriate info (put in type, name, leave an x in the port field since I haven't found the port yet / also put in the button assignments)

3) Find a port (it's going to be a digital phone) - I believe the command is something like "list configuration port-all" (I have to look it up). Find the port (will be a 24 port card) and find the "u" for unassigned.

4) Find a hunt group for the extension - this one, I have no idea how to do.

5) Find a coverage path - I'm having problems with this one as well. I think we want to let the phone ring three times and go to vm.

If someone could help me with any of the five points (or all five points), I would really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2013, 10:28 AM
jones328 jones328 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
jones328 has 10 reputation points
Default

Easiest thing to do is duplicate an existing station. Let's say your extension 1234 rings 3 times and goes to voicemail. On the command line type dup sta 1234 start 1234 count 1.
This will assign the next available number after extension 1234 and it will find an available port for you as well.
If you want to do it from scratch I suggest you try the dup command to get an available station and port. Then do a list hunt find the voicemail hunt group number. Then do a list cov path and look for a coverage path that has hXXX (hunt group number for voicemail) then look at the cover path to see how many rings it has.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.