Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2013, 12:53 PM
garg19 garg19 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 30
garg19 has 10 reputation points
Default Avaya 9408 upgrade Issue

Hi,

I am unable to upgrade 9408 phone digital from R2.0 to 94xxT6.BIN (patch to resolve the display issue).We are using the procr to to the upgrade with cm 5.2.1.

File Status: TFTP error: TFTP server unreachable
File Size: 0
Filename in Memory:


fpfVDIMgrFrisco--- TFTP Server PC Name

dadmin@server1> ping fpfVDIMgrFrisco
ping: unknown host fpfVDIMgrFrisco
dadmin@server1> ping 10.162.140.31
PING 10.162.140.31 (10.162.140.31) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 10.162.140.31: icmp_seq=0 ttl=128 time=4.58 ms
64 bytes from 10.162.140.31: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=0.248 ms
64 bytes from 10.162.140.31: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=0.248 ms
64 bytes from 10.162.140.31: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 ti



I have using the below location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Avaya\MV_IPTel\data\TFTPdata\94xx T6 Package

I have used another thord party tftp server too but again no luck.


amy help appreciated

Regards
Amit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2013, 07:22 PM
rvengco rvengco is offline
Whiz
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
rvengco has 10 reputation points
Default

Hello Amit,

1.) You mentioned the firmware is in C:\Program Files (x86)\Avaya\MV_IPTel\data\TFTPdata\94xx T6 Package.
Please put the firmware directly in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Avaya\MV_IPTel\data\TFTPdata directory and remove 94xx T6 Package folder
2.) Make sure in the node-names form, the TFTP server is mapped to the correct IP address
3.) Check if there is any firewall in between the CLAN and the TFTP server and verify to network team that UDP port 69 should not be blocked
4.) If possible, put the TFTP server in the same subnet/LAN as the procr
5.) Run some tests between a workstation (if possible within the same subnet/LAN) and the TFTP server. This will also allow to verify that the file is in the server
For example, from Win XP:
C:\Documents and Settings\wrk2501>tftp w.x.y.z GET 94xxT6.BIN

For more Information Please try to go through the link below "Avaya 9400 Series Digital Deskphones for Avaya Aura Communication Manager Installation and Maintenance Guide"
It includes the procedures in upgrading 9400 series IP Deskphones (page 18)

https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100146852
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2013, 07:44 AM
garg19 garg19 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 30
garg19 has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your reply.

1. Already tried with this step. I tried with only .BIN file in the folder.
2.Names are correct
3. See the screen shots attached (3)
4. All are in the same subnet 10.16a.14b.3c (procr) and TFTP (10.16a.14b.3c)
Attached Files
File Type: docx tftp- 9408.docx (38.6 KB, 25 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2013, 03:39 PM
rvengco rvengco is offline
Whiz
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
rvengco has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi Amit,

If your system is simplex (like s8300/s8500) if you have LSP you may want to try and use it as your TFTP server. you can put the firmware in the /tftpboot directory and use the IP address of the server as your TFTP server.

Also make sure that UDP port 69 is not blocked in your network.
If issue still persists, I suggest you open up a new case to Avaya to check this further.

Thank you so much
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2013, 08:45 PM
garg19 garg19 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 30
garg19 has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks....The server is HP DL360 and only one main location. No LSPs or other location. where can we chk the port 69 information in the tftp server (pc).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2013, 05:11 PM
rvengco rvengco is offline
Whiz
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
rvengco has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi Amit, from your previous screenshot which you attached, TFTP server port 69 is already enabled, you may want to check from your network team if they are blocking this port as well. You may also want to try and disable the internal firewall of your PC as well where you configure it as a TFTP server

If your DL360 is configured as simplex then you can upload the firmware in your /tftpboot but if it is duplex then you cannot.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2013, 06:40 AM
garg19 garg19 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 30
garg19 has 10 reputation points
Default

So if we upload the .bin file in tftpboot then will this work.

so what about the change tftp-server command. d i still need to run this command. if yes then wht will be the tftp server node name?

Amit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-02-2013, 03:18 PM
rvengco rvengco is offline
Whiz
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
rvengco has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi Amit,

if you place your firmware inthe /tftpboot in a simplex server then it should act as your tftp server. you should do the same procedure and if you do that the tftp server will be your server's IP address. We use this process normally in upgrading firmwares like mediagateways and make the server as the TFTP server. But you may try the suggestion as well. If it stil didn't work. I suggest you open up a case to Avaya. Please also verify with your network team that UDP port 69 is not blocked in your network
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2013, 07:42 AM
garg19 garg19 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 30
garg19 has 10 reputation points
Default

The problem is that..in change tftp command you can use same ip for both local and tftp node name right..it wont allow you to do so..and to run the change firmware station download” command it is mandatory to use cha tftp-server command.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.