Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2018, 06:38 AM
rgeogh rgeogh is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
rgeogh has 10 reputation points
Default 7 to 10 digit dialing

Recently our local area code switched from 7 digit dialing to 10 digit dialing. In the past if you wanted to call another area code you need to dial 91(area code)5551212 and it you wanted to call within our are code you'd just dial 95551212. With our current Avaya configuration you can't dial 91(our area code)5551212, you need to drop the 1 between 9 and our area code.

What can I do to restore the simple method of 95551212?
What can I do to and allow 91(our area code)5551212 to work so it's consistent with how people would dial when including the area code?

I'm not an Avaya expert so the more detail you provide in your answer is appreciated. I typically deal with just adding and removing users.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2018, 10:07 AM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 307
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

It's always best if you state which system you have in your post, but by looking at your post history I see that you have Avaya CM 5.2

Unfortunately, I can't offer advice, as I'm familiar with IP Office and not CM, however in the IPO world we take everything you dial after the 9 and send it to an ARS table. In the table we match digits and wildcards to determine what to send out on the line to the phone company. We would match 7 digits only and add the area code in front of them, and if we got 1+(local area code)+7 digits we would send local area code and the last 7 digits (eliminating the 1 in front of the area code)

(If local area code is 213)
XXXXXXX; / Dial / 213N
(Match 7 digits and add area code)

1213XXXXXXX; / Dial / 213N
(match 1+local area code+7digits remove the leading 1)


ope someone from the CM world can give you more specific advice

Last edited by thiel2; 10-04-2018 at 10:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:25 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.