Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Support Site Feedback Community

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2012, 10:15 AM
lordon lordon is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
lordon has 10 reputation points
Default the new support site is a complete failure

ok for starters, the interface and the searchability is in my opinion flawed, for example "would you like to go back to list of downloads?" or actually showing the release number (instead of 8.0xx) while searching for administrative updates for ip office

safari

doesnt work correctly all the time

google chrome?

doesnt work correctly all the time

IE does work, but once again when clicking downloads and documents typing in ip office and then selecting downloads / the release, you still cannot see the full release number being offered!!!!!! Who did this?!?!?!?!?! ridiculous.

then after clicking to the download page there is no button to go back to the list of downloads for release 8.xx

the layout and overal feel of the site basically is not user friendly, ipofficeinfo.com is a much better example of what a support page should look like as crude and antiquated as it may be it just works

I really hope that you have not paid for this work and that changes can be made. it is downright horrible

I average two to sometimes even three ip office installations per week, and this is just not going to work when I need to put a customer on either a patched release or older release. the FULL RELEASE NUMBER NEEDS TO BE THERE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2012, 08:50 AM
srector srector is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
srector has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi lordon,

Thanks for your comments this weekend.

Can you let me know exactly what's not working in chrome or safari and what version of the browser you're on? The site was tested across all modern browsers - If there's a defect that you're experiencing, I'd like to log with our IT group.

Have you tried the product support page for IP Office? http://support.avaya.com/products/P0160/ip-office/8.0.x. The product support page lists latest downloads for this product, along with user guides and top documents.

I also tried to follow the steps you outline above and had a few questions
- Go to Documents & Downloads
- Type in IP and IP Office appears
- Select IP Office and release 8.0x
- I see a list of downloads sorted by date
- Each download listed has a release in the title. Is that what you're seeing?
- Can you tell me what you're referring to when you are saying that the "full release number needs to be there?" For example, if I'm looking at this download page for IP Office for the GA release, the download has the release number in the title. http://support.avaya.com/downloads/download-details.action?contentId=C20122151855429490_6&prod uctId=P0160

Look forward to your response. We can also schedule time on the phone if needed.
__________________
Susan | Avaya Support Web Team | Avaya Client Services For PRIORITY Service, create a Service Request online at http://support.avaya.com. Select Service Requests > Create Service Requests. Also, check service request status, order parts, and access the latest knowledge from our newly designed Avaya Support website!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2012, 05:57 PM
hicks10 hicks10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
hicks10 has 10 reputation points
Default

I completely agree that it's terrible! I went to the support site and typed in CS1000, release 7.5. Then I went through the list on the side and filtered the different manuals I wanted to download. When you click on a manual, you cannot open it in a new tab or window. So when you go back to the list of manuals, none of the filters are checked so you have to do that all over again. Why in the world you disable the ability to open a pdf in a new tab or window?????????????

And what in the **** is the View Downloads for? This is worse than Nortel's old site which was disaster. It used to be so easy. You click on a product then go to Documentation and it's all right there and easy to save. My lord what happened??????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2012, 01:47 PM
melanm melanm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
melanm has 10 reputation points
Default The impossible has happened

The nortel site was the worst, and now its completely unusable
the only value to it, is a bad example.

Maybe the should look at cisco's site
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2012, 07:48 AM
jdunla jdunla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
jdunla has 10 reputation points
Default

Once on the documentation page the navigation method is poorly designed and inefficent. Why the slide mechanism on the side of the page to scroll down??
This is a very poorly thought out method.
This is a support documentation site, the old site showed all the docs with the ability to scroll down the entire page and showed on the docs on that one page.
The new "slide" scroll is not appropriate for a support site, for a child's game site, perphaps. But, not one where the goal is the view and navigate as quickly and easy as possible. This is not the case now with new support site.
To get so wrong, something as fundamental as the navigation mechansim, points to the need to a complete re-evaluation of the design criteria of the support site.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2012, 12:04 PM
mmmackin's Avatar
mmmackin mmmackin is offline
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
mmmackin has disabled reputation
Default

Thanks for your feedback. We have an enhancement request to revise the scrolling design on search result pages.
__________________
Maggie | Avaya Support Web Team | Avaya Client Services
For PRIORITY Service, create a Service Request online at [url]http://support.avaya.com[/url].
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2012, 02:30 AM
hicks10 hicks10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
hicks10 has 10 reputation points
Default

Here's an interesting little tidbit: I logged in and searched for "Contact Center Overview" and I got the message "Terribly sorry...". So I logged out and did the search again and everything came up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2012, 09:20 AM
romer romer is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
romer has 10 reputation points
Default

I feel your pain. In order to manage Heritage NES contracts the use of web tools that allow Serial number to Sold To lookup is critical. Contracts provide a Nortel Site ID (whic are still issued for new product today ???) but no Sold To is provided.
In order for us to receive support for the contract we paid for, we must provide a Sold To number. It is the Partner's burden to find all this information with broken tools.
The new site search takes you to everything but that tool to enter your: Site ID, Serial Number, or Solt To to cross reference.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2012, 09:38 AM
mmmackin's Avatar
mmmackin mmmackin is offline
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
mmmackin has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romer View Post
I feel your pain. In order to manage Heritage NES contracts the use of web tools that allow Serial number to Sold To lookup is critical. Contracts provide a Nortel Site ID (whic are still issued for new product today ???) but no Sold To is provided.
In order for us to receive support for the contract we paid for, we must provide a Sold To number. It is the Partner's burden to find all this information with broken tools.
The new site search takes you to everything but that tool to enter your: Site ID, Serial Number, or Solt To to cross reference.
Hi Romer,

Have you tried this link: https://support.avaya.com/support/bpLookup.action

You can find this BP SoldTo Lookup tool in the bottom navigation menu under All Tools.

Also, this lookup step is no longer necessary in many of our processes. For example, to create a Service Request, you can enter your Nortel ID in the field labeled Don't Know Either (when you don't know your Avaya SoldTo or your Nortel Serial Number). Tip: Remember to select the correct entry from the auto-suggest drop-down list that is displayed as you start typing. This is the best way for our system to find an accurate match.
__________________
Maggie | Avaya Support Web Team | Avaya Client Services
For PRIORITY Service, create a Service Request online at [url]http://support.avaya.com[/url].

Last edited by mmmackin; 06-22-2012 at 10:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2012, 12:01 PM
mmmackin's Avatar
mmmackin mmmackin is offline
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
mmmackin has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hicks10 View Post
Here's an interesting little tidbit: I logged in and searched for "Contact Center Overview" and I got the message "Terribly sorry...". So I logged out and did the search again and everything came up.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This issue seems to occur with users who have registered with No Relationship, and therefore have no Sold Tos associated with their account. We have fixed this issue on these particular accounts to allow you to search on non-entitled documents.
__________________
Maggie | Avaya Support Web Team | Avaya Client Services
For PRIORITY Service, create a Service Request online at [url]http://support.avaya.com[/url].
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.