Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2013, 11:00 AM
baile58 baile58 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
baile58 has 10 reputation points
Default Nortel 5520 Stack question

Currently I have a stack of 5 Nortel branded 5520-48T-PWR switches. I am looking to add an additional switch, but the newer 5520 series are all branded Avaya.

Part Number Nortel: AL1001A05-E5
Part Number Avaya: AL1001E05-E5

Couple of questions...

1. Will the new Avaya switches stack with the older Nortel switches.
2. Our stack is currently running version 5.1.1 - I assume the new Avaya switch will come with version 6.x. Is it possible to downgrade to version 5.1.1 or is it not even possible to run version 5.1.1 on the Avaya hardware?
3. If 1 & 2 are possible, is there any supporting documentation?

Thanks for you help in advance.

Edit: Added Part Numbers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2013, 02:14 PM
baile58 baile58 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
baile58 has 10 reputation points
Default

Anyone know just the answer to question 1, will I be able to stack both a Nortel and Avaya switch together?

I have already called tech support, but since I don't have a support contract they can't answer my questions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2013, 03:03 PM
gbeaudoin gbeaudoin is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 15
gbeaudoin has 11 reputation points
Default

I think they will work together. Assuming matching firmware version of course. I belives you can even make a 55xx and a 56xx switch work togheter.

As for the product number, the only difference between the two is the power cord. A is without power cord. E is with a US power cord.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2013, 06:15 PM
wittersjohan wittersjohan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
wittersjohan has 10 reputation points
Default

Adding an Avaya branded unit to a stack is no problem, as the chassis hardware is still about the same, only the logo's have changed...

But you have to make sure the diag/agent are the same. The new unit will have a recent build and should theoretically be downgraded, but I personally usually do this myself as it is quicker and better manageable..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2013, 06:17 AM
baile58 baile58 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
baile58 has 10 reputation points
Default Answers

I answer my own thread. Yes, it is possible to stack both Avaya and Nortel switches. But they must be at the same software and diagnostic versions. Like others have pointed out, it's much easier to downgrade the new switch before adding it to the stack. The downgrade is the same procedure as the upgrade - software first, diagnostics second.

I ended up buying 2 Avaya switches - I added 1 about 4 weeks ago. It is number 6 in the switch stack and has been running clean since I downgraded and plugged it in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:29 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.