Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2015, 03:04 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Question SM Trunk Channels - Aura Integration

Hello,

I have a question concerning the SM trunk channel licenses. The following text is available within the knowledgebase;


SM Trunk Channels
These licenses are used to enabled SM lines for connection to an Avaya Aura network. The IP Office system also requires a Branch System license.


I want to archive the following, I have a customer who runs an Avaya Aura Network with SM, ACM etc… and has some standalone IP Offices. They want now to connect some of the existing IP Offices to it’s Aura network. Now the question is, as the IP Offices should still be a standalone system do I need;

SM Trunk Channels

or

SIP Trunk Channels?

Your answers are well appreciated.

Lothar

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2015, 06:11 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Smile

Hallo All,

I have asked my SE from Avaya regading that question, fidn here below his statement:

"
As of 9.0 IPO Branch is no longer a “mode” you need to put the system in, it is just a regular IP Office system connected to an Aura environment. In 9.0 the connection to Session Manager was using regular SIP trunks, which had a cost. With 9.1 a new license “SM Line” was introduced, which is used for SIP trunks to Session Manager, and the license is free (this is how it works in the enterprise environment: SIP trunks between Avaya systems do not cost anything).

You can think of the SM line as a simplified version of SIP trunk, with less configuration options as it is for connection to SM only.

So if you are not using any centralized option, but keep all the users as IP Office users, then from an IPO perspective you just need the SM line licenses (which are free), and then you can connect IP Office to the Aura platform.
"

It looks likes there is no cost involved.

Regards,

Lothar
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.