Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2014, 10:23 AM
rwallo rwallo is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Slidell LA
Posts: 29
rwallo has 11 reputation points
Default 9608 IP Phone - No Ring but Flashing LED

Hello folks

I have some 9608 IP phones with firmware SP 6.2.3 H.323 release on them. There are about 1500 installed on the system. We are having to reboot about 5 per week because they will indicate an incoming call on the LED but do not ring. A reboot of the phone corrects the problem.

I looked through the readme on the latest release for firmware and it didn't mention this issue.

We are monitoring so that we can verify that the audio patch is in fact set for handset and not headset, and, that the ringer volume has not been turned all the way down.

This sounds similar to something I vaguely recall from years ago on the 4600 IP phones but can not remember what the resolution was.

If you have had or have heard of something like this, please share the resolution or any thoughts you have.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2014, 07:57 AM
psinghsolank psinghsolank is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
psinghsolank has 10 reputation points
Smile

Hello Richard,

Can you provide following details:

Are all these phones the agents extensions?
How frequent the issue occurs on a same phone?
Did you tried loading a default 46xx settings file on a phone and monitor it for issue?

Regarding the 4600IP phones, I found the following issue and its resolution:
=====================
Issue: The 4612 or 4624 IP Telephone works properly except the telephone does not ring.

CAUSE: The Ringer Off (RngOF) softkey feature has been activated.

RESOLUTION: Use the softkey Menu option to access the RngOF feature. A downward-pointing triangle means the Ringer is off. Ensure that the triangle points up. Also, check the Volume setting on the telephone. Finally, do a self-test on the telephone.
=====================


You can try upgrading to the latest H.323 6.4 firmware
If has the following issue fix which can be the problem in your case:
"The ringtone volume is also changed whenever the user changes the speaker volume."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.