Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2014, 05:59 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Unhappy Conference Phone B189 Touchscreen not properly working

Hi All,

I have currently the problem with a B189 (H.323, FW 1.0019) conference phone. My issue is related to the fact that the touchscreen is sometimes not working when dialing a number.

Did someone see the same issues?
If yes what have you done to make it working?

It works for the first 3-4 digits when dialing and then stops working. Is there any known issue?

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2014, 09:17 AM
gwebster gwebster is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 142
gwebster has 25 to 49 reputation pointsgwebster has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Try using the latest 1.0.1.08 software which is available on the support portal and see if that makes any difference.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2014, 01:38 PM
ahahnen ahahnen is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
ahahnen has 10 reputation points
Default

I've got some B189's that are on 1.0.1.08 with the same issue. My guess is it's a hardware defect.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2014, 01:28 PM
mcginp mcginp is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 58
mcginp has 14 reputation pointsmcginp has 14 reputation points
Default B189 touch screen not responsive

Hi Everyone,
I have been working on this same issue for months. I have been back and forth between our vendor and Avaya. I have already gone through multiple hardware replacements to the extent of having the entire lot of 13 B189's swapped out. It took me months to get where I'm at but Tier4 is finally looking at this issue. If it turns out to be a hardware issue then they will have to swap out A LOT of phones. I think it is a firmware issue, but Tier4 will not admit or deny anything. I strongly suggest if anyone is having these issues to let me know your avaya ticket number so I can make Tier4 move faster on this issue. Just an FYI this issue is present in firmware 1.0 and 1.0.1.08

Last edited by mcginp; 12-09-2014 at 01:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2014, 10:49 AM
mgoodwin mgoodwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
mgoodwin has 11 reputation points
Default

mcginp - thanks for the update, be interested to seer what T4 says, as the one i have doesnt seem to work as well
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2014, 11:01 AM
mcginp mcginp is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 58
mcginp has 14 reputation pointsmcginp has 14 reputation points
Default

I wanted to update where I am at with Tier4. They are trying to rule out CM and the network. I have provided them a video of the touch screen not responding and a packet capture of when the screen doesn't respond. They have provided me with firmware that will allow me to access the ram/cpu utilization. They also want the logs of the phone so I set it up to send the file to my fileserver. I wonder at this point if the cpu/ram is just junk to support the touchscreen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2015, 07:43 AM
mcginp mcginp is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 58
mcginp has 14 reputation pointsmcginp has 14 reputation points
Default

Out of curiosity, does anyone use the logo.jpg feature on their 46xxxsettings.txt file?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2015, 08:38 AM
tonycalkins tonycalkins is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14
tonycalkins has 10 reputation points
Default

I too am having the touch screen issue with most of my B189 phones with the 1.0.1.08 firmware. It is better than it was with the old firmware but still not great. I have not opened a ticket with Avaya yet.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2015, 12:42 PM
mcginp mcginp is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 58
mcginp has 14 reputation pointsmcginp has 14 reputation points
Default

Avaya is working with the touchscreen manufacturers to create firmware. This firmware will be able to let the touchscreen respond better to touches. Once I receive the firmware I will tell you the firmware revision. You can then let avaya send you the firmware file.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2015, 04:21 AM
mcginp mcginp is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 58
mcginp has 14 reputation pointsmcginp has 14 reputation points
Default new firmware

update: Avaya is releasing an official firmware on February 20, 2015 to address the touch screen sensitivity issues. After running this firmware for 2-3 weeks, I noticed a significant difference.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.