Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Contact Center Applications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-26-2014, 12:35 PM
ebyh ebyh is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
ebyh has 13 reputation pointsebyh has 13 reputation points
Default CMS Supervisor - Conection to host was refused

We had the same issue last year with our Win7 upgrade as well. It was absolutely maddening! The solution is a little over my head, but here's a snippet I copied from an email which may help point you in the right direction:

"The most important step is the per-user initial configuration. The user must be placed in Policy Technical group as the app writes to the registry in a way that is prohibited by Policy Standard.

We have found that with a messed up install, completely de-install, then reinstall as admin, then login with the Policy Technical user and run the app and configure the connection (make sure to delete any existing connection to [the server] first... then add it back in...)"

Best wishes!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-26-2014, 08:50 PM
nguyenhoangh nguyenhoangh is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
nguyenhoangh has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks for respond!

I fixed my problem by adding the IP and hostname of my PC in /etc/hosts of CMS

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-26-2014, 11:38 PM
shaikht shaikht is offline
Genius
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 246
shaikht has 25 to 49 reputation pointsshaikht has 25 to 49 reputation pointsshaikht has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Hi,

For windows 7, you can get supervisor user profile at:
C:\Users\user_name\AppData\Roaming\Avaya\CMS Supervisor R17\Profiles

While uninstalling, have you removed all supervisor registries?

Issue is only from PC or you are not able to login from all PC's?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-26-2014, 11:40 PM
shaikht shaikht is offline
Genius
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 246
shaikht has 25 to 49 reputation pointsshaikht has 25 to 49 reputation pointsshaikht has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

You can try folllowing also if it works:

Try to connect using Manual in option option rather than auto in.


If it is occuring only on one PC, you can try to re-install supervisor and see if it make some difference. Follow below steps:
) Start, Settings, Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs
2) Remove CVS software
3) Go to Windows Explorer
4) Do a search/find for cvsup*.cfg
5) When found, delete all instances and dump them from your Recycle Bin.
6) Go into Start, Run window
7) Type in "regedit"

8) Registry Editor window opens
9) HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE (drill down)
10) Go to SOFTWARE
11) Look for Avaya folders and delete anything related to Supervisor.
12) Reboot PC
13) Reinstall CVS Software
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-23-2014, 06:28 AM
ekepne's Avatar
ekepne ekepne is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1
ekepne has 10 reputation points
Talking CMS Supervisor "Connection to host refused" - WORK-AROUND

Everyone,
During the course of troubleshooting within my Enterprise network, we found two "work-arounds" that work.
First, let discuss the cause of this issue as we have found it to be. When a user's password expires or is force reset and their account is in a password reset state this issue happens on select machines.
The two solutions for this are outlined below:
  1. Server-side: Adding the clients hostname and ip address to the HOSTS file located in the root/etc folder on the CMS server.
  2. Server-side: We use ssh and deny all other forms of communications, so telnet was not a real option for us on an Enterprise scale, but we were able to add the clients IP address to the HOSTS.ALLOW file located in the root/etc folder on the CMS server and then go back and comment it out after password change.
Both of the above stated methods require root access to the CMS server, which can be gained by using Putty or any other ssh client to get to the server and using the "su -" command and password to gain access to the system root. We also used "VI" editor to modify both of the HOSTS and HOSTS.ALLOW files. If you are not sure how to use these editors please Google "Basic VI Commands Linux" and you should be fine. I hope this helps anyone who is having this issue. If you have any questions or would like more information please comment and I will do my best to respond accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-14-2015, 08:28 AM
raska1 raska1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
raska1 has 10 reputation points
Default Re connection to host refused

Hi,

The problem was I wasn’t able to login using SSH (CMS supervisor V17.0), 'connection to host refused'. Network, port 23 worked just fine. Installed wireshark on my PC and found that every time when I tried to login using SSH, CMS supervisor tries to establish SSH session with one of my media gateways. WTF. Searched registry by media gateway’s IP and found that it’s default IP in Putty! For some reasons CMS gets settings for SSH session from Putty’s SshHostKeys. Renamed HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SimonTatham\PuTTY to PuTTY_1 and now everything is working just fine.

I think before trying any other options install wireshark and check what server your CMS supervisor is trying to connect to.

Artem
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-19-2015, 05:24 PM
bcanto bcanto is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
bcanto has 10 reputation points
Default

Look at the messages file in /var/adm . You might see a message that states something like "connection refused (name/address mismatch).

I'm not sure of the exact mechanism at play but cms tries to do a dns lookup on the incoming connection. If it doesn't get the response it is expecting, it refuses the connection. I suspect that the initial connection from the client passes its hostname somehow and then cms does a dns lookup to make sure things match.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-23-2015, 11:09 AM
chamber2236 chamber2236 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
chamber2236 has 10 reputation points
Default

I had the same issue. Was a bad registry key in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER>Software>SimonTatham>PuTTY>Sessi ons section of the registry. I believe it was in either the Default or Default%20Settings key. Don't remember exactly which value was the issue but it had a host name or IP that when I removed it there was no longer an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-12-2015, 10:09 AM
helmse helmse is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
helmse has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks!! Changing Default%20Settings key fixed it for me. Incidentally, I believe this fix would only apply to people who are using Tutty.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-20-2019, 12:38 AM
vorobi vorobi is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
vorobi has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raska1 View Post
Hi,

The problem was I wasn’t able to login using SSH (CMS supervisor V17.0), 'connection to host refused'. Network, port 23 worked just fine. Installed wireshark on my PC and found that every time when I tried to login using SSH, CMS supervisor tries to establish SSH session with one of my media gateways. WTF. Searched registry by media gateway’s IP and found that it’s default IP in Putty! For some reasons CMS gets settings for SSH session from Putty’s SshHostKeys. Renamed HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SimonTatham\PuTTY to PuTTY_1 and now everything is working just fine.

I think before trying any other options install wireshark and check what server your CMS supervisor is trying to connect to.

Artem
Thx, this helps to me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.