Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2019, 08:58 AM
bartl39 bartl39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
bartl39 has 10 reputation points
Default G4x0 Ethernet Port Bonding?

Can the G4x0 Gateways bond their Ethernet ports together to appear as a single logical connection to an Ethernet switch?

Customer has a strict rule to enable port security on their Cisco network. If the primary G430 port goes offline, the backup G430 port becomes active. The issue is the same MAC address from the gateway is used on the backup port. This causes a problem with the Cisco port security.

Is there any port bonding capability in the G430 or can we change the MAC address on the backup port?


Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2019, 04:58 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 396
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

I don't think G4x0 can do ethernet bonding; only active/standby port redundancy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2019, 11:49 AM
bartl39 bartl39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
bartl39 has 10 reputation points
Default

Do the G430 ports share a common MAC address or does each port have it's own MAC?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2019, 05:56 AM
sbisga sbisga is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
sbisga has 10 reputation points
Default

If Cisco equipment, why not allow port security 2 addresses and make them sticky?

switchport port-security mac-address sticky
switchport port-security maximum
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2019, 07:58 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 396
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartl39 View Post
Do the G430 ports share a common MAC address or does each port have it's own MAC?
The two LAN ports share the same MAC. Same deal with the WAN ports. The third MAC is the services port.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2019, 10:37 AM
bartl39 bartl39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
bartl39 has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbisga View Post
If Cisco equipment, why not allow port security 2 addresses and make them sticky?

switchport port-security mac-address sticky
switchport port-security maximum

Since both G430 LAN ports use the same MAC, can you use that one G430 MAC for both Cisco ports when using port security?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.