Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2013, 09:15 AM
oalauf oalauf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
oalauf has 10 reputation points
Default Coonecting a new line to the system

As our network administrator left work, I was asked to replace him.
I was asked to connect a new telephone line to the Avaya G450.
I connected it to V202. This new line should be directed to 2 stations
only, for receiving and outgoing calls. I tried to follow the patterns of
the line connected to V108. But I couldnt get it. I have read many
articles and help files, but still no use.
All I want to know is:
How do I configure that new line connected to V202 on Avaya G450?
How do I make that line be directed to specific stations only for
incoming calls?
How do I configure specific stations to use that line only for outgoing calls?

I am new to the system so I need a step by step guide.
Thank you so much for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2013, 01:00 AM
oalauf oalauf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
oalauf has 10 reputation points
Default

More than a 1000 views, not a single reply!
Is it difficult?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2013, 12:28 AM
aa1 aa1 is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 185
aa1 has 24 reputation pointsaa1 has 24 reputation points
Default Administring a trunk group in Communication Manager

The answer is not so easy to describe. There are many factors that need to be considered.

some questions like:
- what media module have you interested?
- what sort of line do you want to connect? (analog, ISDN....)
- what type of stations do you have?
- the version of the Avaya Communication Manager

Topics that you would need to read in the Avaya installation and configuration manuals:
- Trunk and trunk groups
- route pattern
- ARS/AAR
- TAC (Trunk access code)
- inc-call-handling-trmt
- private-numbering
- public-unknown-numbering
- COR/COS
- multiple locations


Typically, you would configure a trunk group for the new lines you want to add. The trunk group would depend on the type of the trunk (lines) you have/want and also on the far end (typically service provider). Once you have a trunk group setup, then you have a means to make and receive calls.
In order for a station to use the trunk group, you need to have route pattern setup for it. Also, you need to have the AAR/ARS administration done. Note that this is one method of configuring the incoming and outgoing calls.

One way to have specific stations use a specific line to make outgoing calls would be to administer a TAC on the trunk group and have the phone user dial the TAC prior making the call. This way, Communication Manager is requested to initiate the call using that specific line. You would need to administer the COR/COS properly to decrease security breaches.

A trick would be to allocate the stations and trunk in a specific location. This would require a lot of different administration and you would need to be careful not to mis-configure another location...

Below are some links that would assist you!

Avaya Aura® Communication Manager Screen Reference
Release 6.3 03-602878 Issue 5 October 2013
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100171650
Chapter 142: Trunk Group (Page 1017)
Chapter 111: Route Pattern (Page 779)
Chapter 2: AAR and ARS Digit Analysis Table (Page 17)

How to admin multi locations with CM6.3 and above
Doc ID: ADMN111564
https://kb.avaya.com/ext/index?page=...up=UG_INTERNAL


Additional documents for your reference:
************************************************
Upgrading to Avaya Aura® Communication Manager
Release 6.2 03-603560 Issue 1.0 December 2012
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100168149


Implementing Avaya Aura® Communication Manager
Release 6.3 03-603558 Issue 5 October 2013
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100171634

Administrator’s Guide for Avaya Communication Manager
555-233-506 Issue 8 June 2004
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100014554


Improving your skills on Avaya products (specifically Avaya Aura Communication Manager) would be very beneficial to you and your organization. I would recommend attending training courses (classroom, virtual...) at Avaya Learning.

Avaya Learning develops and delivers industry leading training for Avaya products and solutions. Avaya Learning specifically focuses on Avaya's product launches, sales force and channel enablement – including solution and executive selling, certification and skills development. Avaya Learning uses a blended learning approach offering a combination of self paced, virtual interactive and classroom learning environments to maximize effectiveness and decrease time required to reach proficiency. Avaya Learning supports and maintains the Avaya Learning Center where both course details and information on the Avaya Professional Credential Program can be found.


https://www.avaya-learning.com/.
Example of courses:
Avaya Aura Communication Manager Administration
Communication Manager Trunk and Routing Administration
Communication Manager System Features and Administration


I hope these info helps
Arbi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2013, 08:50 AM
oalauf oalauf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
oalauf has 10 reputation points
Solution Confirmed

Thank you Arbi for your detailed help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.