Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2014, 07:55 AM
mbondi mbondi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pretoria
Posts: 5
mbondi has 10 reputation points
Default IPOffice 9.0.4 and Scopia Elite 5000 as sip client

Hi All,

I just recently setup IPOffice 9.0.4 Server Edition and I am trying to interconnect this with Scopia Management ver 8.3 and a Scopia Elite 5110 MCU.

I am able to correctly setup the Scopia Management as a sip trunk in IPOffice and it registers and the trunk is shown as in service.

What I am failing to do is to register the Elite 5110 MCU with IP Office as a sip user as is suggested in the deployment guide for Avaya Radvision products.

The Elite is trying to register with the username "sip:Elite-192168000150@192.158.20.5" as can be seen from the trace below:

16:29:20 29049859mS SIP Tx: UDP 192.168.20.5:5060 -> 192.168.0.150:5060
SIP/2.0 403 Forbidden
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 192.168.0.150:5060;branch=z9hG4bK-5b754-16542264-4edbea40-7062c1a0
From: <sip:Elite-192168000150@192.168.20.5>;tag=7070c170-c0a80096-13c4-6009-5b754-3201e9e6-5b754
Call-ID: 143fcab0-c0a80096-13c4-6009-5b754-491b52db-5b754
CSeq: 1 REGISTER
User-Agent: IP Office 9.0.4.0 build 965
Allow: INVITE,ACK,CANCEL,OPTIONS,BYE,REFER,NOTIFY,INFO,SU BSCRIBE,REGISTER,PUBLISH
Supported: timer
Server: IP Office 9.0.4.0 build 965
Reason: Q.850;cause=21;text="Call rejected"
To: <sip:Elite-192168000150@192.168.20.5>;tag=3b2403bdcee28d05
Content-Length: 0


The IPOffice username field does not allow me to create a SIP user with the name "Elite-192168000150" as the field concatenates the last three letters of the username.

Is anyone able to assist me with some guidance on how to achieve this?

Many thanks

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2014, 12:02 PM
fwilkepcs fwilkepcs is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
fwilkepcs has 18 reputation pointsfwilkepcs has 18 reputation points
Default

You have to register as 901@w.x.y.z if your MCU should be extension 901. If I am right
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2014, 12:32 AM
mbondi mbondi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pretoria
Posts: 5
mbondi has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks for your reply.

The smallest useable field in the Elite MCU is the Product Identifier which it uses in combination with the IP address as it tries to register with IP Office.

If I use "Elite" as the user input part of the Product Identifier in the configuration of the MCU, the registration username is changed to Elite-192168000150, the MCU automatically adds its own IP address into the Product Identifier and uses that for registration. You can see that from the trace.

Now one could say that I need to create the appropriate extension and user in IPOffice for this SIP device.

But, it would appear that the Scopia Elite 5000 series with the last version I have installed i.e. version 7.7.6.0 doesn't allow you to use 901 as a Product Identifier, so it cannot register with IP Office. The field length required in the configuration is at least 5 characters (user changeable part of the Product Identifier).

I try to create the new user called Elite-192168000150 in IPOffice as the user must match for successful registration. You will find that you cannot create a user with the name Elite-192168000150 as that field length is limited to 15 characters and it should be allowed to go to 18 characters at least to catch the last bit of the address, namely the 150 part of the address.

IPOffice only allows me to create user "Elite-192168000" (15 chars long) and so can never match the username used by the Elite "Elite-192168000150" (18 chars long) when it tries to register.

Can someone else verify this? Is this sip registration incorrectly used in the Elite 5000 series MCU's?

I have checked as far back as version 5.7.3 of the Scopia MCU series also, and this problem is there too.

What format is the registration string of the Elite 6000 series compared to that of the Elite 5000 series MCU with regards registrations in SIP?

Here is the trace of the Elite trying to register and the response IP Office is giving it:

10:40:20 55618984mS SIP Rx: UDP 192.168.0.150:5060 -> 192.168.20.5:5060
REGISTER sip:192.168.20.5:5060;transport=udp SIP/2.0
From: <sip:Elite-192168000150@192.168.20.5>;tag=70785c58-c0a80096-13c4-6009-6b708-77b043ab-6b708
To: <sip:Elite-192168000150@192.168.20.5>
Call-ID: 143fcab0-c0a80096-13c4-6009-5b754-491b52db-5b754
CSeq: 1094 REGISTER
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 192.168.0.150:5060;branch=z9hG4bK-6b708-1a3afa7c-cd02921-7069f610
Max-Forwards: 70
Supported: replaces,timer
User-Agent: Elite 7.7.6 RVID53416241474759415f
Accept: application/sdp,audio/telephone-event,application/media_control+xml
Accept-Language: en
Accept-Encoding: text
Expires: 3600
Contact: <sip:Elite-192168000150@192.168.0.150;transport=UDP>
Allow: INVITE,ACK,CANCEL,BYE,INFO,UPDATE,REFER,NOTIFY,SUB SCRIBE
Content-Length: 0

10:40:20 55618985mS SIP Tx: UDP 192.168.20.5:5060 -> 192.168.0.150:5060
SIP/2.0 403 Forbidden
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 192.168.0.150:5060;branch=z9hG4bK-6b708-1a3afa7c-cd02921-7069f610
From: <sip:Elite-192168000150@192.168.20.5>;tag=70785c58-c0a80096-13c4-6009-6b708-77b043ab-6b708
Call-ID: 143fcab0-c0a80096-13c4-6009-5b754-491b52db-5b754
CSeq: 1094 REGISTER
User-Agent: IP Office 9.0.4.0 build 965
Allow: INVITE,ACK,CANCEL,OPTIONS,BYE,REFER,NOTIFY,INFO,SU BSCRIBE,REGISTER,PUBLISH
Supported: timer
Server: IP Office 9.0.4.0 build 965
Reason: Q.850;cause=21;text="Call rejected"
To: <sip:Elite-192168000150@192.168.20.5>;tag=7e4ddc69d4d72d38
Content-Length: 0



Thanks for your replies.

Last edited by mbondi; 12-23-2014 at 12:51 AM. Reason: Added trace and colour
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2015, 05:09 AM
mbondi mbondi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pretoria
Posts: 5
mbondi has 10 reputation points
Exclamation Just to add to it

Looking at the Avaya document:

https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100166820

on page 14 you will see the 1.4 Large Enterprise Deployment example

In the picture there is a Scopia Elite 5000 Series MCU under the iView Management Suite right....

then goto page 26 and see Chapter 3. Large Enterprise Deployment

Scroll down to section 3.10 and you would expect the configuration for the Scopia Elite MCU to be there, but instead the exact same information from chapter 2.7 is pasted there.

So, maybe a few questions would arise such as:

1. Where are the working configuration steps for the Scopia Elite 5000 series MCU's?

2. Why has the configuration of the Scopia XT5000 MCU been put in its place instead?

3. The names are similar and easy to lose track of if you are not paying careful attention. Was this an intentional switch move to hide the Scopia Elite configuration from us?

4. How can documentation be compiled that is this incomplete and misleading?

5. Does anyone at Avaya check documentation for validity before it is released for public consumption?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.