Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2013, 06:09 PM
wittersjohan wittersjohan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
wittersjohan has 10 reputation points
Default ERS 3500 series memory leak

Hello all,

I think there is a memory leak in 5.1 for the 3500 series switches..

I've noticed that from an installation I did 3 weeks ago all 3500 stacks have crashed after 2 weeks, and all standalone switches rebooted at the same time.

Entries in the log are that available memory for the standalone unit or the base unit of the stack drops under 20Mbytes after a week, then 5Mbytes, 4,3,2,1... until after 2 weeks unit 1 leaves the stack and standalone units reboot.

For the stacks, the backup base does not become temp base, base led on all units is blinking fast, all units are standalone. Rebooting all units in the stack repairs the issue.

I checked with a different recent installation and the pattern of decreasing free memory seems to match that installation also.

Anyone else seen this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2013, 09:19 PM
toehit toehit is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
toehit has 10 reputation points
Default

Saw something similar Pre 5.1.

5.1 has been stable for me, but when I saw this in 5.0.x, I reapplied the code and that seemed to fix. Might be an option for you.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2013, 12:03 AM
wittersjohan wittersjohan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
wittersjohan has 10 reputation points
Default

Hello Toehit,

unfortunately I already tried to re-apply the code, but unfortunately this did not change anything. I also tried with various configurations on different switches, but untill now this issue still persists.

The strange thing is I have switches with same software and same HW version running perfectly at other locations.

We are currently investigating the problem together with Avaya support and hope to find a solution quickly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.