Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2015, 06:47 AM
pangus pangus is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
pangus has 10 reputation points
Default Three Years On & Still No Time Sync!

I have been battling with this issue for about three years now! BT don't seem to be able to fix it and I have tried everything.

The basic issue is, no matter what I do (believe me when I say I have tried everything), I cannot get the phones to show the same time as our internal PCs. I do understand (I have worked this out myself) that the 9611G phone units themselves cannot show the absolute live time as they are not continuously polling the system, but I believe they are polling at around 30 second intervals so therefore I would never expect them to show anything more than 30 seconds adrift. However, if you press the 'Phone' button on the 9611G it refreshes and updates to whatever the system time is on IP Office. If I watch my PC clock, when the second hand hits the 12, and I continuously press the phone button, it does not change. After a reboot of the IPoffice server, it is about 20 seconds slow, and then drifts out by about 5 - 10 seconds per day, until it is about 3 - 4 minutes out and I have to reboot the system all over again.

IP Office is set to sync its time to Voicemail Pro server and that server is set to sync with our internal DC (I have also tried syncing to several external time sources several times). No matter what I do, despite the fact that the time under 'Resources' in the application 'System Status' shows last poll as successful, no components in this system show a time which actually agrees with anything else within the system. Also, (and this is the main issue), the time drifts gradually until the phones show about 3 - 4 minutes difference as our systems, people start complaining and I start the whole correction cycle again, hence the real issue.

Absolutely stumped, completely fed up with messing around with this. Constantly revisiting this issue to try and put it to bed and getting nowhere. The other thing to point out is that NOTHING ELSE on our network has ever had an issue with setting its time with our DC time server. NAS units, you name it, everything is absolutely fine, so this is nothing to do with firewalls or anything else internal which is preventing this from working. The Avaya shows everything is working fine and syncs are apparently successful, yet the time is quite simply always wrong! The Avaya Phone system has NEVER been successfully synced to anything and none of the components sync to each other.

PS I have just updated both units (IP Office and VMP server) to the latest software versions as at April 2015. These updates were supplied to me by BT. The BT engineer did not think it would do any good because he knows of at least one other customer with exactly the same issue who's updates had also not worked. He was right, it's still doesn't work.

Details in Control Unit properties are:

IP 500 V2 8.1 (95)
ICM32 V2/PRIS U 8.1 (95)
PHONE2 8.1 (95)
PHONE8 8.1 (95)

Last edited by pangus; 05-14-2015 at 07:35 AM. Reason: Add details
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2015, 06:58 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 453
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Use the SNTPSRVR parameter in the 46xxsettings.txt file to direct the phones directly to your DC. I agree the IPO doesn't handle time sync well, among other things...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2015, 07:17 AM
pangus pangus is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
pangus has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks, where is this file please?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2015, 07:19 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 453
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

It's located in the IP Office\Manager directory on the VM Pro server. The phones download this file at each boot for auxiliary settings. Read through it carefully.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2015, 07:30 AM
pangus pangus is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
pangus has 10 reputation points
Smile

OK thanks. Do you know which template file I need? You seemed to indicate 46xx but I have the 9611G using H323
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2015, 07:35 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 453
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

All Avaya IP endpoints use 46xxsettings.txt. I know the name is misleading. It started with the 4600 series endpoints and was carried over.

When an IP phone boots, it looks for an HTTP or HTTPS file server to download firmware and the settings file. I think the IPO itself can act as this, but I usually configure the VM Pro server as the HTTP source. Assuming your phones are addressed via DHCP, look to see what is in the HTTPSRVR parameter in the option 242 scope.

Also be sure "Enable Time Server" is enabled in Manager: File > Preferences

Enable Time Server: Default = On.
This setting allows Manager to respond to RFC868 Time requests from systems. It will provide the system with both the UTC time value and the local time value of the PC on which it is running.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2015, 07:59 AM
pangus pangus is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
pangus has 10 reputation points
Default

Sorry, I just cannot find this file or the folders you refer to. I am using the Windows based 'Voice Server File Access' interface. Search takes an absolute age. Can you point me to the location from the root folder?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2015, 08:01 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 453
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

C:\Program Files (x86)\Avaya\IP Office\Manager
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2015, 08:09 AM
pangus pangus is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
pangus has 10 reputation points
Default

OK, I thought you meant on the actual server itself. So, this is on my local PC. If I edit this file how is it going to update everyone's phones? When I load IPoffice Manager, it reads this file, yes? So if I then save the config and reboot the system, it should update everyone?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2015, 08:11 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 453
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

The directory and files must be on the Windows VM Pro server. PCs are not in the equation here. The phones are directed to the server for HTTP either via DHCP or static assignment. Again, the IPO might be able to act as an HTTP server but I typically use the VM server in tandem with an HTTP client to open 80/443 to requests.

If this sounds foreign to you, I suggest having Avaya or a BP do this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.