Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2014, 09:03 AM
olivim olivim is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
olivim has 10 reputation points
Default 4548GT-PWR boot problem

Hello all,

We have an 4548GT-PWR RLS 12 that was part of a stack (3 more switchs). It was working but now don't boot anymore , and was removed from the stack. We're trying to diagnose the problems connecting to it by the serial interface but don't show any kind of information.

What can we do to try to make it boot again ?

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2014, 09:44 PM
rameshng rameshng is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 89
rameshng has 16 reputation pointsrameshng has 16 reputation points
Question

Have u tried rebooting while the console kept connected?
This should show u some booting sequence.

Whats the LED status in the switch?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2014, 11:05 AM
vdela vdela is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
vdela has 10 reputation points
Default Boot problem

Hi!!! I have problem with one 4548GT AVAYA SWITCH i connect to the console port but do not show me any information. The switch is "ok" because i have attach two computers in the same network for example one have 192.168.1.10 and the other 192.168.1.20 and the have ping. I reset the switch with the CLI console conected and i do not have any information

But i want to chance the IP and i do not have any information in the CLI and the default ip "192.168.1.1" do not work. Can you help me?? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2014, 10:54 AM
whitt26 whitt26 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
whitt26 has 10 reputation points
Default similar issue

So I was having a similar issue will a few of my ERS 4500 series switches. On some of them I noticed the stacking cables went bad. I found this out by logging into the base switch and typing:
"show stack health"

It should show you if the stacking cables can see another device. Try replacing them with known good ones.

Another issue I have found is the auto-save feature is basically garbage. Sometimes it would fail/be corrupt and upon a restart it wouldn't load properly. Since then I have disabled this feature and ensured I saved the configuration manually. Haven't see this specific problem since.

Also, check to see if your stack recognizes that there are the right amount of switches. Type:
#"show stack-monitor"
ensure to change this with:
(config)# stack-monitor stack-size [number of switches]

If you have a syslog server, look for a "bsnStackConfiguationError" trap. I got my server throwing alarms every time it sees this message and it happens more than I expected. It means a switch in the stack didn't boot up properly, normally because the stack master booted up a little slower than the rest.

I am not an Avaya professional, but I hope this can give you some direction to head towards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.