Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2010, 02:42 AM
bespaa bespaa is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
bespaa has 10 reputation points
Default IP Office 500 don't start

Does not start IP Office 500 after reset action "Erase All". After this no longer answer was doubtful any queries. RS-232 cable is not, but I can find. What is required to restore the system?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2010, 02:22 PM
smith1075 smith1075 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
smith1075 has 11 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bespaa View Post
Does not start IP Office 500 after reset action "Erase All". After this no longer answer was doubtful any queries. RS-232 cable is not, but I can find. What is required to restore the system?
A business partner
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2010, 03:29 AM
wenpingliu wenpingliu is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
wenpingliu has 10 reputation points
Default System restore

1) Connect a PC to the IPO LAN port with IP address 192.168.42.xx. Run IP Office Manager.
2) Using RS232 cable to connect IP500 DTE port and run HyperTerminal to connect. Use AT-X command to erase firmware. Or, press Reset button on the back panel for 30-40 seconds will also erase all. Then, IP500 will search its firmware with BootP protocol and will get its firmware from IPO Manager PC.
3) After get firmware, IP500 should restart with default settings.

Key point, must have PC running IPO Manager and set its IP to 192.168.42.xx, and connect to the IPO LAN port.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2011, 07:19 AM
marcilio marcilio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
marcilio has 10 reputation points
Default

Hello, I´m with the same problem and apply this solution but it doesn´t works. Do you have another process to resolve similar problem?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:10 PM
sconno sconno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
sconno has 10 reputation points
Default Uploading new firmware

You need to know the MAC address of the chassis LAN port. This can be gleaned by connecting the LAN port to a computer running a packet sniffer like Wireshark. Look for broadcast packets coming from the unit that have a MAC that starts with 00:e0:07.

Once you have that, create a BOOTP entry in the Manager application using the full MAC address, IP address of 192.168.42.1, and point that to the proper ip500 firmware file within your IP Office Manager program's install directory e.g. c:\program files(x86)\avaya\ip office\manager...

The filename as of the latest firmware is: ip500.bin

Once you have the bootp entry created, close manager. Then set the Manager PC IP address to 192.168.42.100, 255.255.255.0. Reopen Manager, then power up the IP500. It should begin to upload the firmware at that point.

SC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2011, 06:56 AM
marcilio marcilio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
marcilio has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks, I will try this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.