Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2010, 08:00 PM
wnie wnie is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
wnie has 10 reputation points
Post Questions about MV_IPTEL's 'Scanning IP Telephone Firmware' feature

I can't find any useful document to explain how to configure and use MV_IPTEL's 'Scanning IP Telephone Firmware' feature.

Only find the below descriptions:
The File Server application Status Web page has a built-in scan function that checks the current status of IP telephone firmware. MV_Scan_Console invokes a sequential set of SNMP queries to a range of IP addresses and stores the results in both detail and summary format.
You can set the start and stop range. There is an option to set a maximum count of the telephones searched with a default = 1000.
To search a range of IP addresses, create a text file with the start and stop range. Place the text file in the “Scan” subdirectory. Enter the file name in the Web form. This method overrides the start and stop range settings.
The format is a list of ranges formatted with start and stop IP addresses separated by a space on separate lines.


But, every time running scan, it always thought all IP address was Not an IP Phone.
We have configured the SET SNMP address / STRING public in 46xxsetting file.
Just guess whether it is caused by the MV_IPTEL’s SNMP String.

Hope anyone can help me!
Thanks very much in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2010, 11:53 AM
bbenway bbenway is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1
bbenway has 10 reputation points
Default

Are you just trying to figure out what version of firmware your phones are running?

If so you can just do in the sat terminal: list registered

This will show all the registered IP stations and their firmware load.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2010, 07:40 AM
kantr kantr is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
kantr has 10 reputation points
Default how to get the FW of the IP phones

In addition to the below details, if you are looking for specifuc stations, then...

1) type "list registered", then, press HELP. Options woulf help you sort out your search
2) Alternately, "status station <staion ext>" also details the FW of the specific phone
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2010, 08:00 PM
wnie wnie is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
wnie has 10 reputation points
Default thanks

Thanks very much for your explanations.

But, actually, customer want to use "Scanning IP Telephone Firmware" in MV_IPTEL application to get all registered phones' FW.

There is also such feature's introduction in the manual document.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mv_iptel, scan, snmp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.