Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2015, 12:31 PM
jmeyers7881 jmeyers7881 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
jmeyers7881 has 10 reputation points
Default Pickup groups (Definity to IPO)

I am switching from a Definity (that I inherited) to a IPO 500. I am trying to duplicate the pickup group functionality in the Definity for call pickup.

In the Definity world, I define Pickup Group 1 with x111, 112, 113, and 114. Someone calls 111, x111 is the only phone that rings, and anyone at 2, 3, or 4 can hit *7 and it will pickup 111.

New world looks like everything is a hunt group, and I don't see a way to re-create this functionality, even with short codes. It seems like putting the extensions in a HG will ring all the phones, and force the user to dial **32*N# to pick up any of the other extensions.

Anyone have an idea?

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2015, 02:16 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 345
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

Just because a phone is in a hunt group, doesn't mean it has to ring.
Just because a call is directed to an individual extension, doesn't mean other members of a hunt group can't pick up the call via call pick up members.

In IP Office world, create a hunt group instead of a pickup group. Put in the members that you want to pick up each other's calls.

In your case, make a group, call it something like "PU Grp 1", give it an extension number like 299, turn off queuing, turn off voicemail. Check the box for Ex Directory. Put 111, 112, 113, and 114 in the group. Un-check each of them.

On each user, add a button for Call Pickup Members, and set 299 as the group number.


Call Pickup Members
"This feature can be used to pick up a ringing or queuing call at an extension that is a member of the Hunt Group specified. The call picked up does not have to be a hunt group call. The function includes group members even if their membership of the group is currently disabled. "
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2015, 08:19 PM
jmeyers7881 jmeyers7881 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
jmeyers7881 has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks for the reply! I appreciate the specific detail.

One part I forgot to mention, the phones are 2500 analog(ue) sets, so no buttons.

Will I be able to recreate the *7 functionality as a short code? If so, how?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2015, 12:27 AM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Create a group, say 100 and add 111, 112, 113, 114.

Create a shortcode *7/Call Pickup Members/100.

Now if a direct call is ringing 111, dial *7 should answer it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2015, 12:48 PM
jmeyers7881 jmeyers7881 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
jmeyers7881 has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks for the response Mark!

Last question, I hope.

Is it possible to have that functionality based on the group that the user is part of? In other words, the system knows that 111 is a member of group 100, so it automatically picks up a ringing call in that group.

I have at least 4 areas that I need to recreate this functionality for, and if I can have the same *7 code for them all, it would reduce the change management (whinging) that I will have to put up with. If not, I believe that I would need to create a separate *code for each.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2015, 02:21 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 345
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

Put the *7 code on the USER's short code tab, then you can specify the group correct group per user
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.