Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2018, 12:21 PM
danweber danweber is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
danweber has 10 reputation points
Default AVP to customer VMware migration

Anyone migrate Aura v7 applications running on AVP to customer supplied VMware? Any caveats? Can vMotion be used? Existing server HW supporting AVP is coming end-of-life and migrating VMs from AVP (ESXi 5.5) to customer supplied VMware (ESXi 6.0) infrastructure seems like a straight forward process, but can't find any documentation in support of this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2018, 03:13 PM
dfl dfl is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
dfl has 12 reputation points
Default

VMotion won't work because the VMware ESXi license installed by AVP doesn't support vCenter connections. You may be able to temporarily install another ESXi license on your AVP host and then do the vMotion. Regardless of how you get the VMs over to the new host you may need to fix up some routing tables in each of the VMs. When running under an AVP host there are routes set up for the Services Port on the host to Utility Services and then to all of the guest VMs. The other thing I've never looked at is if SMGR supports migrating from AVP to customer supplied VMware. Also just FYI AVP 7.1.2 is based on ESXi 6.0, not sure if that solves your problem or not either.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2018, 07:15 AM
danweber danweber is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
danweber has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks dfl. Avaya has advised against migrating an AVP VM to customer provided VMware. Instead they recommend building a new VM on customer supplied ESXi using proper .OVA and migrating the application (with the help of professional services).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2019, 12:55 AM
wallo wallo is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
wallo has 10 reputation points
Default Downgrading AVP 8.0 to 7.1.3 - Licensing

Something similar - I need to back down the ACP130 P2 server with 8.0 on it from the factory, to AVP 7.1 for a government implementation. AVP 8.x uses an actual ESXi license labeled on the server rather than WebLM. Is it possible to install the true VMware license on AVP 7.1.3? If it's not, we'll have to jump through hoops to get AVP dual CPU licenses....

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.