Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Telephones, Adjuncts, and Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2019, 05:15 PM
reburkeiii reburkeiii is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
reburkeiii has 10 reputation points
Default J179 Unable to Change to H323

The J179 phones come default as SIP. When logging into Admin (craft) the SIG option is not offered and therefore unable to change to H323 signaling. How do I obtain access to the SIG option (if not via admin) or is there another option to set the phone to H323?

New phone, out of box, with a CLEAR and RESET VALUES performed on it, just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2019, 03:32 AM
gwebster gwebster is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141
gwebster has 25 to 49 reputation pointsgwebster has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

https://support.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/101055348

If the J179 is running J100 1.5 software, you first need to upgrade it to a later SIP software (latest is 4.0,0), then convert to H323.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2019, 03:26 AM
kelly207 kelly207 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
kelly207 has 10 reputation points
Default J Series H.323 update

Had the same issue with the J179

I loaded SIP Firmware version J100-IPT-SIP-R4_0_0_0-011719 onto my Utility server (V7)
And updated the phone to that first

Then I loaded 96x1-IPT-H323-R6_7_1_04-11271 firmware (This also covers other H.323 phones like the 9608 and 9611's)

As the J series phone boots, break in using the CRAFT menu and scroll down to Signalling, and toggle from Default to H.323.
Restart the phone and it then takes the H.323 firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2019, 02:45 AM
wallo wallo is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
wallo has 10 reputation points
Default

I'm curious, has anyone found a less time consuming method of simply changing from SIP to H.323? It's one thing for a business partner to go through this but to try and communicate this process to an end user seems rather harsh.

I've managed to convert a few sets to H.323 without updating the SIP version first but, I cannot find the what exactly I did to make it happen. Seems it was different in each case....

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2019, 01:48 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 345
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

* Download and unzip the H.323 6.8.1 Software from Avaya support site
* Upload the files to the IPO
* Power up the phone, answer NO at the Auto Provision question
* Go into Admin, scroll all the way to the bottom to Signalling, change to H.323
* When you exit all the way from Admin the phone will reboot
* It will request the 96x1Hupgrade.txt file
o IF $MODEL4 SEQ J169 GOTO J1XXSW
o SET APPNAME FW_H_J169_J179_R6_8_1_02.bin
o SET JEM24_APPNAME FW_JEM24_R1_0_1_0_6.bin
o GET 46xxsettings.txt
* Phone pulls the FW_H bin file and upgrades firmware, then reboots
* Phone pulls the FW_JEM24 bin and upgrades, no reboot, arrives at login screen
* You can press MUTE 27238 # from here to get to the usual 9608 programming screens (although the phone is seen as a 9611 to the IPO)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2019, 12:36 PM
gwebster gwebster is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141
gwebster has 25 to 49 reputation pointsgwebster has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/101056835
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.