Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Contact Center Applications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2011, 02:32 AM
takakoharada takakoharada is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
takakoharada has 10 reputation points
Default CMS Supervisor ask pw reset at the login after Backup/Restore

Hi All,

Does anyone know that the product behavior below is working as designed?
Regardless of CMS version, either R15, or 16 or earlier release,

1. Conduct Maintenance Backup on CMS data
2. Delete the intended user account from CMS menu
-Ensure that users entry is removed from users home directory, /etc/passwd, and etc/shadow directory
3. Perform Maintenance Menu --> Restore data (check CMS System Admin Data only)
4. Ensure that user home directory, and user data entry in /etc/passwd, and /etc/shadow are restored properly
5. Then, starts CMS Supervisor and tries to login using the deleted account in step 2.
At that time, user is asked to reset the password. Also, if CMS maintenance backup /resore is performed after a new user account was created, that new user was also asked to reset his or her password.
Is this behavior normal expected one, although not defined in the CMS document, as far as I am concerned.
Thank you in advance, Takako Harada - Avaya Japan Ltd
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2011, 03:06 PM
dsusman dsusman is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
dsusman has 10 reputation points
Default

This is expected when password expiration is set. It also depends on how the customer might reconfigure the login/authentication settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2011, 07:39 AM
kamra kamra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: India
Posts: 9
kamra has 10 reputation points
Default CMS Supervisor ask pw reset at the login after Backup/Restore

Harada San,

This is an expected behaviour, as mentioned by dsusman as well. However, my reasons for concurring are different.

Scenario 1: When you delete a CMS user id say <nippon> completely. That user id is not only deleted from CMS database, but also from the /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow files at the OS level. So when you delete the user is <nippon> after taking a full maintenance backup and thereafter restore the data with system admin data option only, you will have the CMS user id <nippon> contained in the backup data that will get restored and the cms user id <nippon> will get restored along with in the CMS db, but at the OS level the entery with password etc. in /etc/shadow and /etc/passwds file will not be there. So when after restoration of just the maintenance data in CMS, when you login using the <nippon> id through CMS supervisor, it tries to log you in the CMS shell but asks for password to be set as the password entries are not there in /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow files.

Scenario 2: When you create a new CMS user after taking the full maintenance backup and then restore it. The entries for that user may not be there in the CMS db, but they are there at the OS level. Since the CMS application creates the new user ids in such a fashion that the users are asked to set the password on the next login attempt, the OS asks for the password to be set. However, I've not tried, so I'm not sure that <nippon> user in this case will be able to access the CMS application properly as its information in not there in the CMS db.

The above explanation could be refined further though..but crudely this is how it works.

Saurabh Kamra
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.