Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2011, 05:33 PM
edlau edlau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
edlau has 10 reputation points
Exclamation IP Office and BCM with QSIG

Hello, please your help/opinion.

We have interconnected an IPO 7.0 and BCM450 R1 with E1 QSIG. Voice is good and numbers being displayed on both sides, but there are no names between these two sites.

According to IPO Monitor, I can see Names on DCH messaging from both sides, but these are not showing up on phone's display.

I will appreciate your thoughts about this.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2011, 02:42 AM
florinp florinp is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
florinp has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edlau View Post
Hello, please your help/opinion.

We have interconnected an IPO 7.0 and BCM450 R1 with E1 QSIG. Voice is good and numbers being displayed on both sides, but there are no names between these two sites.

According to IPO Monitor, I can see Names on DCH messaging from both sides, but these are not showing up on phone's display.

I will appreciate your thoughts about this.

Thanks.
Have you got networking license / MCDN on the BCM?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2011, 07:28 AM
edlau edlau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
edlau has 10 reputation points
Default

Yes, and thanks for commenting.

I forgot to mention that we have installed Trial MCDN and QSIG license, and Sending Name is enabled on DTM Telephony Resources.

Something else to check?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2011, 08:19 AM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default IP Office and BCM with QSIG

Is it sending or reciving the name in either direction or is it not working in either direction?

Sending calling party name on the IP Office is only supported on PRI with the line sub type of DMS100 on R6 and above. You can try setting up a short code in the user short code section of the user form in manager for the IP Office and add the Z to the telephone number field:

Z - Calling Party Name (IP Office Release 6.0+)
This option can be used with trunks that support the sending of name information. The Z character should be followed by the name enclosed in " " quotation marks. Note that their may be name length restrictions that vary between line providers. The changing of name information on calls being forwarded or twinned may also not be supported by the line provider.

The user short code would be what ever you are having them dial, for example an extension on the other switch, the feature would be dial and the telephone number field would be .Z"First Last Names"

My guess is that this will not work but you can try it. This will allow the name to be presented to the BCM. To display the name on the IP Office if it is not being presented, you may have to add Directory Entries to match the telephone number being presented to the IP Office:

http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...entryform_.htm

Configuration Settings
Index: Range = 001 to 999 or None. Software level = 7.0+.
This value is used with system speed dials dialed from M and T-Series phones. The value can be changed but each value can only be applied to one directory entry at any time. Setting the value to None makes the speed dial inaccessible from M and T-Series phones, however it may still be accessible from the directory functions of other phone types and applications.
Name
Enter the text, to be used to identify the number. Names should not begin with numbers.
Number
Enter the number to be matched with the above name. Any brackets or - characters used in the number string are ignored. The directory number match is done on reading from the left-hand side of the number string. Note that if the system has been configured to use an external dialing prefix, that prefix should be added to directory numbers.
The following characters (IP Office Release 5.0+) are supported in directory entries. They are supported in both system configuration entries and in HTTP/LDAP imported entries.
? = Any Digit
Directory entries containing a ? are only used for name matching against the dialed or received digits on outgoing or incoming. They are not included in the directory of numbers to dial available to users through their phones or applications. The wildcard can be used in any position but typically would be used at the end of the number.
In the following example, any calls where the dialed or received number is 10 digits long and starts 732555 will have the display name Homdel associated with them.
Name: Holmdel
Number: 9732555????
( and ) brackets = Optional Digits
These brackets are frequently used to enclose an optional portion of a number, typically the area code. Only one pair of brackets are supported in a number. Entries containing digits inside ( ) brackets are used for both name matching or user dialling. When used for name matching, the dialed or received digits are compared to the directory number with and without the ( ) enclosed digits. When used for dialling from a phone or application directory, the full string is dialed with the ( ) brackets removed.
The following example is a local number. When dialed by users they are likely to dial just the local number. However on incoming calls, for the CLI the telephony provider includes the full area code. Using the ( ) to enclose the area code digits, it is possible for the single directory entry to be used for both incoming and outgoing calls.
Name: Raj Garden
Number: 9(01707)373386
Space and - Characters
Directory entries can also contain spaces and - characters. These will be ignored during name matching and dialing from the directory.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2011, 03:28 PM
edlau edlau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
edlau has 10 reputation points
Default

Ok, thanks.

Z code is not showing names neither.

We will have to use Directory on IPO sets as an option.

So, oficially, names between IPO and BCM using QSIG does not work?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2011, 03:07 PM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default IP Office and BCM with QSIG

Officially if you want to network a BCM R6 and an IP Office R7 you would use SIP trunks and then the names should show up. Using PRI QSIG is not really the offically supported method:

http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...erop_Guide.pdf

Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.