Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2014, 02:47 PM
rwallo rwallo is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Slidell LA
Posts: 29
rwallo has 11 reputation points
Default ACME SBC to CM6 Direct SIP

I am connecting SIP trunks direct to CM6.

I'm stating this up front because I know it is not correct as a supported configuration and that it is outside my control and was determined too far back to be able to correct at this point.

Out bound calls are 100% good.
Inbound calls to IP phones are 100% good.

Our issue is when we have calls that need to terminate to TDM extensions. We get nothing on a list trace tac. We get a little from the MST trace but not enough to see what is wrong. We are seeing a 488 error at the far end. We are thinking it is a codec issue but I've not seen CM care about the type of endpoint it tries to route to.

I don't believe it is our issue but I can't rule it out either.

Any ideas out there?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2014, 02:19 AM
bsreddy bsreddy is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
bsreddy has 10 reputation points
Default

Just a couple of ideas on how you may proceed....

488 is usually related to codec sets as you mentioned. To determine which codecs are at play, you can check the SDP of the INVITE and the 200OK messages. The media attributes of SDP will show which codecs are being offered by the CM and Far-end device. I am suspecting that the reason TDM phones and IP phones are behaving differently could be that they are in different network regions. TDM phones take the NR from the Gateway/cabinet in which they are connected.

You could also try to toggle the IP-IP direct media parameter of the SIP signalling group. That could also help resolve the problem.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2014, 02:25 AM
richa164 richa164 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
richa164 has 23 reputation pointsricha164 has 23 reputation points
Default list trace

You also could try list trace tacxxx/s the /s will or should give you sip messaging at a higher level on the TAC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.