Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2010, 06:09 PM
mggillespie mggillespie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
mggillespie has 10 reputation points
Default Setting up Authorization codes to create restrictions based on use and not extension

I am working with IPO R6.0.8 and I am using call restrictions based on account codes. There are currently 150+ account codes assigned.

The customer would like to have the ability for the users to go to any phone on the system to place thier outbound calls and the client wants to be able to restrict calls based on account code and not by user/extension.

I have done some research and found that this is possible to do this using Authorization codes. I have created a test authorization code of "4390" (which does not match any account codes). When a user dials "9", the ARS table is referenced. In this ARS table, if the user dial "1" followed by any numbers I have set the short code to "force authorization code". The user enters "4390" which is setup up to refer to a user right called "4390A". In the user right, short codes are set to apply to user right and there is a short code added as follows 19055656565/dial/19055656565/0.

The goal here is that 19055656565 is going to be the only long distance number that this user can call, however, I am finding that the user can dial anything as long as they enter "4390"

Have I missed anything?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2010, 08:40 AM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default

The user rights are a combination of what is allowed and what is disallowed. You have only set what is allowed. You also need to create another short code 91N/Barred// to indicate that any other long distance number other than the one specified is not allowed. You may wish to add forced authorization code to the user or user rights short code for the short code 19055656565/dial/19055656565/0 as well. I am using 6.0.14 and it is functional. I setup the Authorization Code to a specific user instead of User rights but it should still work the same for the User rights.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2010, 12:17 PM
mggillespie mggillespie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
mggillespie has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks pdgavin,

I have done the shortcode 91N/Barred// and the call still goes through. I have upgraded to 6.0.14 and same thing. Even when it is the only shortcode in the user right the call still goes through. Should I be looking for anything in particular in monitor?

Thanks again

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2010, 01:23 PM
mongo5150's Avatar
mongo5150 mongo5150 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
mongo5150 has 10 reputation points
Default

Are you sure its matching the code and going to the correct ARS table? Use sysmon to see what codes are being matched, and IF the call is reaching your intended ARS table.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:01 AM
mggillespie mggillespie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
mggillespie has 10 reputation points
Default

The call is going to the correct ARS because that is where I am forcing the Authorization Code. It doesn't seem to be referencing the user right after the code is entered.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2010, 07:03 AM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default

Try setting up the short code in the User form for that particular user, not in user rights. You may have to turn on Short Code Messages in the call section of Trace Options in SysMonitor in order to see which short code is being matched. It may be helpful to see how the IP Office call flow works and what order it does it's match on:

http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...er_dialing.htm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-2013, 09:46 AM
jquiro jquiro is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
jquiro has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi all

I´m having the same problem however I´m working with IP Office 8.1 and all related documents are not updated, Busy feature in short short codes, now it is Barred.
I´m still wondering if I need brackets for my system dial short code [9] and if IP Office works in this way, I dial 9+0996800087, 9 to make externall calls and 0996800087 is my cell phone, then it routes me to an ARS where all short codes are forced to authorization code so I dial my auth code 1234 and it is checked for a match, if true and auth code is linked to an user rights with privileges to make the call it is allowed to completed the call however all calls are allowed despite of a barred short code

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-03-2016, 05:27 AM
bhojwr bhojwr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
bhojwr has 10 reputation points
Default we have issue authorization code

Can you help us we try put authorization code but the when user put the number it keep asking him authorization code but call is not transferring out.

Please help us by sharing short code setting in ASR we want to use authorization code for user base restriction for dialling outside call .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.